What computer to you use with your MacBook Air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by entatlrg, Jun 19, 2009.

?

What computer do you use with your MBA?

  1. Only my MBA

    12 vote(s)
    37.5%
  2. 13" MBP

    1 vote(s)
    3.1%
  3. 15" MBP

    3 vote(s)
    9.4%
  4. 17" MBP

    1 vote(s)
    3.1%
  5. iMac

    8 vote(s)
    25.0%
  6. Mac Pro

    2 vote(s)
    6.3%
  7. Windows notebook

    1 vote(s)
    3.1%
  8. Windows desktop

    4 vote(s)
    12.5%
  1. entatlrg macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #1
    What computer to you use with your MacBook Air? Or, is your MacBook Air your only or main computer?
     
  2. dborja macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California
    #2
    iMac is the main machine and heavy lifter. MBA allows me to move around the house and do light stuff. Also great on travel for email, Web browsing, MSWord, MSExcel and other light stuff.:)
     
  3. mcpryon2 macrumors 6502

    mcpryon2

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #3
    I'm a really big fan of the iMac/Air combo.

    I have other computers, both OS X and Windows machines, but my favorite laptop ever is the Air. For me it's perfect, I don't need to have an optical drive with me and I can actually get by with the single USB port.

    As far as desktops go, the iMac is a great machine, especially at the refurb prices. Of course, it's not the beefiest desktop ever, but it can handle its share.
     
  4. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
  5. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #5
    What about those of us who use our MBA as our PRIMARY MAC??? My iPhone 3G is second!

    I use my MBA for everything now! 2.13 GHz CPU, SSD, 24" LED ACD, AirPort Extreme, and MBA SuperDrive is my whole setup... and my iPhone 3G!

    Really, my MBA is my heavy load Mac, and my iPhone 3G is my traveling Mac.

    EDIT>>> Was "Just MBA" always there? I don't remember seeing it the first time I posted here... Sorry if so.
     
  6. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #6
    I'm using my 2.13GHz/128GB SSD as a primary mac also. However, I have a 20" Dell monitor to go along with it, when i need it. Plus I got a blu-ray external drive along with it also. Normally, I'm just unplugged sitting in the kitchen or something
     
  7. stoconnell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Location:
    Rockville (Despite REM's plea.)
    #7
    I almost exclusively use my MBA since I got it. I have a work issued first gen MBP that doesn't get any use, and I have a few old laptops floating around that I use for playing around with Linux.
     
  8. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
  9. Balthezor macrumors member

    Balthezor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #9
    I also have a quad-core gaming PC with Vista 64bit.

    Never had a problem with Vista, runs like a champ.
     
  10. tsubikiddo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS
    #10
    I have a HP notebook running the "oh-so-WOW-vista" home premium
    it was actually too slow and sluggish to have a productive feel on it (but even if it feels 'productive', the system lags are still gonna render the machine pretty much 'unproductive' anyways)
    and so I got my MBA, use exclusively for all my work and serious businesses (that being said, mostly docs and pdfs, keynotes occasionally)

    and since the HP is somehow still booting up,
    it's been used as the base machine at home,
    but I pretty much do everything on my Air nowadays:p
     
  11. entatlrg thread starter macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #11
    15" MPB with 24" ACD is the best "mate" for the MBA ...

    My MBA is my main machine, I use it whenever possible. Even at my desk with 24" displays I often find myself opting to grab the MBA just because it's so convenient and fun to use.

    Probably my favorite "all around" set up was my MBA with a 15" MacBook Pro and 24" ACD combo. Reason being I could have my MBP on my iStand beside my 24" ACD giving me dual monitors and I have have my peripherals all plugged into the ACD.

    I had an iMac and used it with my MBA for a while before giving it to my staff in our accounting department. The iMac / MBA was a nice combo, except going that route the only portable option I was left with was to bring the MBA. Whereas with the 15" MBP if I needed to bring a larger screen/more power with me I could. Plus, the advantage I notice of the MBP/ACD combo over the iMac was you had dual displays. Plus, if you need be you could hook up the ACD to the MBA as well.
     

Share This Page