What cool things can/shall I do with my MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Herb Dorklift, Nov 5, 2010.

1. Herb Dorklift macrumors newbie

I'm new to Macs, not new to computers, but new to "owning" one.

I say "owning" because I've always had one, but it's just been "there" if you see what I mean.

This time round I spent a lot of money and just got the basic 2.4ghz 13" MBP, and I want to get my money's worth of owning a good computer!

I already got Spotify (friend sorted me out with an invite, unlimited listens! Amazing), and I'm checking out Garageband (I'm a musician).

So what other cool things can/shall I do with my new purchase? Just little things, like anyone got any cool wallpaper sites, or any hidden options in Safari that are benficial?

Stuff like that :)

Thanks.

2. dusk007 macrumors 68040

dusk007

You could get into a helicopter fly up a good skiing mountain and use the MBP as a snowboard to get down the hill. That would be cool and definitely land you lots of youtube fans.

If you want something boring but convenient get BetterTouchTool to make real use of your touchpad.

3. Herb Dorklift thread starter macrumors newbie

What is it? :)

4. AdamRock macrumors 6502a

AdamRock

you can use the mbp to deactivate bombs, you know, the usual.

no but really how are we supposed to know what cool things you want to do to your mac?

5. Herb Dorklift thread starter macrumors newbie

It wasn't a question about what do I want to do, it was what neat stuff is available.

:rolleyes:

6. Username02 macrumors regular

Congrats on the new machine!

For Safari, I highly recommend you check out Apple's Safari Extensions page https://extensions.apple.com/

I use AdBlock and ClickToFlash and couldn't be happier. The internet is so much snappier without the Ads and Flash.

There are a lot of other cool plug-ins there too that might interest you.. and they're free!