What could be wrong...

Discussion in 'iMac' started by GoodWatch, Sep 28, 2007.

  1. GoodWatch macrumors 6502a

    GoodWatch

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    #1
    …… if Apple aided user executable upgrades on their hardware? Let me clarify this. The only part that is upgradeable on an iMac is the memory. You can retrofit more memory, that’s about it. But if, for instance, there was another hatch on the back that gave access to the processor, one could pop in a 2.4 GHz. quad-core Intel that has the same specs as the dual-core bar the number of cores. What could be wrong with this? What are your thoughts on this? I apologize if I’m flogging a dead horse with this post but as my ranking states, I’m a nubee. :rolleyes:
     
  2. nando2323 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #2
    That would be cool IMO but we all know that would never happen. But there is nothing holding you back from taking it appart and upgrading it yourself. Thats after your Applecare runs out of course ;)
     
  3. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #3
    Unfortunately it is a dead horse. The iMac is designed the way it is. Our opinions will just turn into a long thread of.....our opinions. But I'm sure there will be more replies.
     
  4. Squonk macrumors 65816

    Squonk

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #4
    If the CPU were socketed, then maybe. But they are not socketed.

    Keep the dream alive though! :cool:
     
  5. GoodWatch thread starter macrumors 6502a

    GoodWatch

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    #5
    Not socketed? So if a processor kicks the bucket they swap out the mainboard? De-soldering 200+ pins is a hell of a job.... And to know that the price difference between a dual- and quad-core is only 40 Euros! (Sound of gritting teeth followed by pouring me a double :rolleyes:).
     
  6. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #6
    Im pretty sure the earlier Intel iMacs had socketted CPU's. But the last generation or two does not.
    However, the latest alu iMacs do have GPU's on an mxm type socketted card. But its not known if it conforms fully to mxm standards (which is apparently vague anyway). So GPU upgrades may be possible. But likely through a 3rd party Mac specialist some time in the future.
    Also, the previous gen 24" white iMac has a GPU on a similar MXM type card.
     
  7. kheller2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    #7

    Are you sure about the CPU not being socketed? Several places state that it is in their specification sections.
     
  8. CashGap macrumors 6502

    CashGap

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Location:
    Music City, USA
    #8
    I can't believe that this thread has gone so far without the oxymoron "serious gamer" appearing in any of the replies.

    It just does not fit the Apple model (hardware that works) to have any user-accessibility beyond the bare minimum necessary.
     
  9. JimmyDreams macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #9
    I agree with the last part of that. Apple wants to keep things working, simple, and easy to support. That's part of what's wrong with the PC market....too many ways to do the same thing, and with driver conflicts, hardware conflicts, quality issues......all that becomes a support nightmare.

    I'm just fine with Apple keeping things locked up tight!:D
     
  10. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #10
    Not certain.. But take a look at the picts here which show the innards of a mid 07 iMac. You can see the gpu on its mxm type socket. The cpu is burried under heat pipe stuff it seems, but it doesn't look like there is any sign of a socket there.
    http://210.157.201.118/~kodawarisan/imac_2007_mid/imac_2007_mid_02.html
     

Share This Page