what could the problem be??

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by FSUSem1noles, Jan 14, 2009.

  1. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #1
    I have currently burned my home dvd collection, just about finished.. I encode with Handbrake .9.3 and tag with MetaX and stream my collection via external HD.

    I just did Mission: Impossible yesterday, it shows in my iTunes movie library and I can play it in iTunes, but the Apple TV does not see it, I tried unplugging/resetting the Apple TV, same result... it shows every other movie, but Mission: Impossible.. so then I tried to sync the movie and I get an error saying "this movie can not be synced with this apple tv" I'm not sure what the problem could be.. I have about 80 movies, encoded them all with handbrake 9.3 and used MetaX to tag them, this is the only movie I'm having a problem with.. It's even more confusing that the movie will play if I play it through iTunes...

    Any suggestions???

    Thanks for the help, it's greatly appreciated..
     
  2. weids macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #2
    I had a similar problem yesterday with Thomas Crown Affair. It turned out, Handbrake encoded the movie at 31 frames per second. As I understand it, AppleTV tops out at 24 fps (someone correct me if I am wrong).

    I fixed the problem by re-encoding the movie with 24 fps checked and all worked well afterward.

    Others can speak more intelligently to this, but I thought I would mention what I tried since it seemed to work.
     
  3. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
  4. FSUSem1noles thread starter macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #4
    Hmmm.. I didn't even think to check that.. is there a way to check the framerate after the movie has already been encoded? or do I need to go back and just re-encode and make the framerate changes there in handbrake..

    Thanks for your response!
     
  5. weids macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #5
    Sorry - I should have mentioned that. I checked it in Quicktime using the inspector (I don't recall which menu houses the inspector option). It listed fps.

    Interesting that other formats can exceed 24 fps - thanks for that info, Nightstorm.
     
  6. FSUSem1noles thread starter macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #6
    1 last question for ya' can the inspector option be accessed via regular QT, or do you have/need QT Pro..

    Thanks again!
     
  7. weids macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #7
    Regular QT. I'm no expert, so maybe others have a better way to get it. I just happened upon it and the fps caught my eye. Good luck.
     

Share This Page