What do architects use on Mac OS X?

kotbehemot

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 6, 2006
Wroclaw
Hi!
I am a student of architecture, and I am going to buy myself a MacBook. Tell me - what do architects use on the Mac OS X? The standard set on the PCs is AutoCAD + 3D studio MAX + VRay + Photoshop. Out of these programs only PS works on Mac OS. What is a typical software which mac-architects use?

Thanks in advice.

bartelby

macrumors Core
Jun 16, 2004
Couldn't you just install Windows on the MacBook and run the Windows software?

kotbehemot

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 6, 2006
Wroclaw
So what's the point in buying mac? I want to buy a mac becouse of the system.

Thanks vincebio.. And is Microstation available for mac?

technicolor

macrumors 68000
Dec 21, 2005
><><><><
kotbehemot said:
So what's the point in buying mac? I want to buy a mac becouse of the system.

Thanks vincebio.. And is Microstation available for mac?
So you could use OSX on your spare time and for your personal use, and use the windows side for school and work. The Apple isnt going to be much more expensive than a PC lappie anyway, might as well be able to have both.

kotbehemot

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 6, 2006
Wroclaw
I know SketchUp - it is great software. Do You know, how fast and stable it is on intel Macs? It still runs through Rosetta, doesn't it? Artlantis too?

Lightwave looks like great rendering software - will it work well on an intel MacBook, anyone tried? the graphics card in MacBook is told not to be very good, and at this moment I can't afford MB Pro:(

riciad

macrumors 6502
Oct 10, 2005
Ireland
From what I've read SU runs not too bad under Rosetta if you max out the ram. Hopefully SU Pro 6 should be out soon and then it should really fly. I'm using it at the moment with an iMac G5 Rev A 1.8 with no problems.

ArtlantisR Studio is already UB and ArtlantisR (just rendering, no animation) is supposed to be updated to UB this month.