What do I choose?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by randomhkkid, Apr 10, 2015.

1. randomhkkid, Apr 10, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2015

randomhkkid macrumors member

So after a series of faults with my 2012 15" retina 2.6ghz Apple has agreed to replace my laptop with a new 2015 model. The thing is that the '2015' 15" model is only a very small bump from the 2014 model unlike the 13" model that is a proper refresh.

My dilemma is that I've already made the decision to switch to a Microsoft surface pro 4 when it's released (I'm a student and that stylus sells it for me) so in terms of raw re-sale value 4 months down the line what do you guys think will fetch more as the 15" is likely to have been refreshed again with skylake/broadwell.

In the mean time the laptop will be used lightly, however not much as I own a desktop that serves as my main machine.

TLDR; Top of the line 15" vs top of the line 13" MBP Retina resale value in ~4months.

n.b This is a very special case where the laptop has been repaired 6 times in 3 years.

2. bmclaurin macrumors member

bmclaurin

If the 15" gets updated in that timeframe, then it seems the 13" would be the safer bet in terms of resale value.

3. ZBoater macrumors G3

ZBoater

4. randomhkkid thread starter macrumors member

Hmm, even with the current $700 difference in starting price and the re-sale value Macs seem to enjoy?

5. ZBoater macrumors G3

ZBoater

Yes. Most definitely. The 15" is a boat anchor.

6. randomhkkid thread starter macrumors member

Cheers for the help, I've also just found out Apple are letting me keep my old one :eek:

7. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

CaptainChunk

Okay wait a minute. They're replacing your machine AND letting you keep the old one? Hah, I wish my local Apple Stores were that nice... :confused:

8. bmclaurin, Apr 11, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2015

bmclaurin macrumors member

bmclaurin