What do I do with my iMac G3

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Boots-, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. Boots- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hey I have a strawberry iMac G3 DV 400mHz
    I dont have it connected to the internet
    it runs mac os 10.4.11
    what are some ideas for it like things i can turn it into or something
     
  2. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #2
    Use it? I still use a PowerMac G3 233Mhz every day. Doesn't run the latest software, but does many things just fine.
     
  3. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #3
    you could give it to me :)

    i have heard (but i don't know how true it is) that you can instal 3rd party touchscreens in some macs.

    Maybe make it a recipe, email, iTunes, and widget machine for your kitchen :s
     
  4. rfruth macrumors regular

    rfruth

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Would make a dandy firewall, gateway, print server, web appliance - I just surf the net, e-mail etc. with mine :rolleyes:
     
  5. Boots- thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
  6. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #6
    your welcome :rolleyes:

    maybe if you told exactly what you had in mind...since you don't seem to like our ideas. gives us clues :p
     
  7. TrapOx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    #7
    I hear recycle centers accept old computers.
     
  8. Boots- thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    how would I go about doing this ?

    btw the imac doesnt have internet
     
  9. rfruth macrumors regular

    rfruth

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  10. tuc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    #10
    If you check you'll see that it does have ethernet, so I'm not sure what you're talking about.

    Perhaps you're referring to airport/802.11? If your iMac G3 doesn't have 802.11 there are options. There's the official Apple solution, which is only 802.11b and is expensive due to scarcity. There are USB adapters, but one must be careful to get one that has mac drivers (and actually install those drivers). Perhaps the best solution are 802.11 "game adapters" that connect to the ethernet port.

    I picked up a game adapter made by Zoom on sale for about $35. It's nothing special, but it gives me 802.11g on OSX and/or OS9 without having to worry about drivers.
     
  11. Boots- thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    well it has ethernet but its not connected to the internet is what i meant
     

Share This Page