What do i need... dual monitors question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by BooShay, Jan 2, 2011.

  1. BooShay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    #1
    To run dual monitors? I see so many different accessories but i dont know which one to get
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. BooShay thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    #3
    Dont have one yet, what should i be looking for...
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Any monitor with DVI, VGA, HDMI or (Mini) DisplayPort will be fine, i.e. 99.9% of the monitors. Personally, I would look for one with DVI and/or HDMI because they use digital signal which is better than analog (used by VGA)
     
  5. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
  6. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #6
    Not quite he needs cables too. Depending not the output his iMac has he will need an adapter cable and then the input into the monitor however many monitors come with the latter cable.
     
  7. calynch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    #7
    http://www.amazon.com/Connectland-CL-ADA31021-Mini-DVI-HDMI-Adapter/dp/B003LXC902

    i purchased this, an amazon brand hdmi cable, and a sylvania 32" LCD TV. i have an imac g5,1 from 2006 with a core 2 duo processor, 2GB ram, and snow leopard currently running.. when i plugged in the cord, the screen on my imac flashed, but the TV cannot seem to find the HDMI source. i have tried plugging the hdmi cable into 2 different ports with no luck. any idea what could be causing this issue?
     
  8. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #8
    Is your TV set to the correct HDMI input?
     
  9. calynch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    #9
    yes, and i have tried it on two different sources.
     
  10. calynch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    #10
  11. leftywamumonkey macrumors 6502a

    leftywamumonkey

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    California
  12. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #12
    AFAIK Mac OSX won't output to TVs through HDMI. This is a known issue.
     
  13. calynch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    #13
    thats alright i suppose.. what now? i will return this adapter, in exchange for a mini-VGA to VGA adapter, along with a VGA to HDMI adapter?
     
  14. steveotron macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #14
    I can ouput from my Mac (mini adapter for HDMI to HDMI) and it works just fine for my TV. Audio does not get transmitted, however.
     

Share This Page