What do I need for my Imac for Mini DV Transfers

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by coqui52, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. coqui52 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #1
    Recently I will invest in a camcorder. I am thinking of buying a HD VTR for the purpose of editing videos recorded on to a Mini DV.

    However, I have a iMac (desktop) but I don't know if I will need additional equipment for my video editing like for instance a Video Card Expansion or something in that league.

    Any advice for a amateur video editor will be well appreciated.
     
  2. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #2
    Mini DV camcorders require a Firewire port to transfer the video from the camera, which your iMac has. You should have no problems transferring the video into iMovie.
     
  3. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #3
    If you have a Mini DV camera then all you need to transfer the video between the camera and the computer is a Firewire cable. You will need one with the right ends on it. Cameras typically have a four wire mini-sized conectore and the Mac has the "standard" kind.

    No need for other equipment except many a larger disk if you need to staor a lot of video. One tape is about 7GB.
     
  4. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #4
    You'll just need a FireWire cable. The camcorder will probably take a 6- to 4-pin cable, which in my experience isn't usually included for some reason. Check the box before you get home to avoid an extra trip.
     
  5. coqui52 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #5
    Thank you

    Thanks for the info.

    However, I once had transfered directly from the camera to my Imac with a firewire cable but the video was not synchronized correctly with the audio and I had to adjust it in Final Cut.

    Did it have something to do with the firewire cable, the camera or the computer?
     
  6. -DH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville Tennessee
    #6
    It may have been due to recording the audio portion at one sampling rate in the camera, then capturing or editing at another on the computer. DV typically uses either 32khz, 12 bit or 48khz, 16 bit audio. You need to make sure that you capture and edit at the exact same rate as you recorded.

    -DH
     
  7. coqui52 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #7
    I did not know that.




    How do I know at what rate my camera recorded it? In the menu or something like that?
     
  8. -DH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville Tennessee
    #8
    That's where they usually are. Check your owner's manuall to find out.

    -DH
     
  9. coqui52 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #9
    Thanks again

    Thanks Everybody for all the insights. I hope I can return the favor some day.
     

Share This Page