What do I need to activate my iPad?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by edlsen, Mar 14, 2012.

  1. edlsen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    #1
    I will be receiving my 64gb Verizon iPad at work on Friday and obviously I would like to play with it right away.

    Will I need a computer running iTunes to get it going (activated)? My company has a huge hate of anything that they didn't put on my office computer so that would be a big no-go.

    Thanks
    Jared
     
  2. psonice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #2
    You just need a wifi connection. You don't need iTunes at all, although it's obviously useful for syncing music and stuff.
     
  3. ripkord macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
  4. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #4
    Yes as long as you have access to a wi-fi connection you can set it up now without having to connect to a computer with iTunes. It's been like that since late last year when iOS 5.0 was released I belive. At some point you will want to connect it to iTunes to sync your content.
     
  5. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #5
    If it is your first iPad or Apple product you will need to set up an Apple ID and you can do that on your iPad.

    If, like me, you have an iPad, you need only sign in with your Apple ID and like magic, Apple downloads all your software, etc to your device. A good WiFi connection is the most important thing to have.

    I do not blame your company for securing it's computers. I always fear one of my employees bringing an infected file from home.
     
  6. M87 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #6
    You never have to connect your iPad to a computer if you don't want to. The first time you turn it on it will guide you through setup, very quick and easy.
     
  7. edlsen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    #7
    Thanks everyone. I don't blame the company for securing things either. It's amazing how stupid some people can be.

    We once had someone using a memory stick that served double duty as a Wi-Fi hotspot in a company computer. Just by chance it was discovered before anyone picked up the signal and did any damage.

    I do not have access to a Wi-Fi signal EXCEPT the one from my phone. I assume this isn't a big download or anything so I should be okay to use that connection. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

    And yes, this is actually my first Apple product EVER. No iPods, iPhones, Macs etc.
     
  8. pat park macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #8
    If this is your first Apple product and you have to create an Apple ID. I would wait till you get home. Would not recommend tethering to your phone to set up Apple ID a d your device all thru your phones connection.
     
  9. edlsen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    #9
    Is the Apple ID the same one I set up to purchase my iPad in the first place? If so, I have that all set up already.

    I didn't quite catch why I shouldn't use my phone to tether. (By the way, I used to have an unlimited plan on a Windows phone and somehow when I switched to my Android plan, it stayed unlimited!:D)

    Thanks
     
  10. Nightprowler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    #10
    That's assuming you already have a flux capacitor :cool:
     
  11. macguy360 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #11
    There's an app for that.
     
  12. treynolds macrumors regular

    treynolds

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle
    #12
    ...and dilithium crystals.
     

Share This Page