what do I need to do when my SSD is installed?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Burntorange817, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. Burntorange817 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #1
    Hello,

    I just upgraded to 8gb of RAM and next on my list is too replace the optical bay with an SSD.

    Ive narrowed it down to what SSD but had some un answered questions.
    Im gonna mainly use it for my OS and was curious to know how i would go about switching the OS to the SSD and clearing my 320 gb HDD already on my macbook pro, but still keeping everything on it.

    Thanks for any input given!
     
  2. Maseison macrumors newbie

    Maseison

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #2
    I don't wanna hijack your thread but i have a similar question. i am about to put a SSD in my optical bay with the OWC data doubler and i wanted to know the steps to make the SSD my boot drive. Also what kind of SSD did you settle on OP?
     
  3. Burntorange817 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    I'm going to make my SSD my boot drive too with just the OS on it and wondering how to make all this happen, so pretty much have the same question.....what is the "data doubler"
     
  4. Burntorange817 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    and i settled on the same 120 gig SSD as yourself!
     
  5. Maseison macrumors newbie

    Maseison

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    #5
    yea they seemed like the only company that i got the most positive reviews from! i've had such bad luck with ocz!
     
  6. Burntorange817 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    really? like what? any other options i should check out?

    and can no one give us any input?

    thanks
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
  8. Burntorange817 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I have read through that thread a bit, but still haven't found what I am looking for, I know what ssd I'm getting, I know how to install it. Just want to know how to get my OS onto it because I'm gonna use it as my boot drive with apps on it and my mulitedia on the hdd

    Thanks
     
  9. spacedrabbit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    #9
    Theoretically:
    Install SSD in optibay.

    Boot to recovery partition (lion) or installation CD (other)

    Format new drive using disk utility

    Select newly formatted SSD as target destination for OS installion

    After installation completes, restart machine. Hold down option key when macbook is powering on to bring up startup manager. It will list 2 hard drives. Choose the SDD.

    Boot to desktop.

    Do what you will with the old HDD. However you'll want to go into :apple: > System Preferences > Startup disk and choose the SSD as your default boot volume.
     
  10. nippyjun macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #10
    I would fresh install Lion on the new drive and then use time machine to restore your system.
     

Share This Page