what do i need to unlock the iPhone 3g?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ipodtouchftw, Nov 14, 2008.

  1. ipodtouchftw macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #1
    i want an iphone 3g, but i have t-mobile. im planning on buying the iphone 3g from the apple store and unlocking it using the Turbo SIM Unlock chip. so all i have to do is buy the iphone 3g and then insert the Turbo SIM unlock thing with my t-mobile SIM card and it will work? or do i have to do something else? also, can i use the internet wherever i want if im paying for internet from t-mobile, or can i only use wifi? thanks in advance
     
  2. djcraze macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #2
    You can't unlock the iPhone 3G as of yet.
     
  3. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #3
    Don't listen to him. There is no SOFTWARE unlock. but you clearly said "using the TurboSIM Unlock"...thats a hardware unlock. I think all you need to do is sign a 2 yr contract with AT&T and then pay the 175$ EFT charge, then buy the TurboSIM and put it in..oh but make sure you activate the iPhone before you pay the EFT.
     
  4. djcraze macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #4
    My bad, thanks for the clarification :).
     
  5. bigkali95 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    #5
    As people said there is no software unlock yet although there are many rumors that dev team is close. And many scams claiming that they sell software solution. Anyway you need just a good quality 3Gsim card and that is all.
    I 've bought mine at http://unlockediphone.info and it works without problems. 3G, GPS, wifi etc. There seems to be sim cards of different quality.
    Good luck with unlocking!
     
  6. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #6
    I have an unlocked 3G iPhone.

    If you buy one from South Africa or Italy, they are factory unlocked, as it is illegal to sell locked phones in these two countries.

    The South African price is R6399 ($650) for the 8GB and R7399 ($750) for the 16GB. This is without a contract. You simply buy the phone, and pop in any GSM SIM card.
     
  7. ipodtouchftw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #7
    can i still use the internet if im using T-Mobile on the iphone 3g? or can i only use wifi?
     
  8. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #8
    Yes, you could do it his way..and it costs a LOT more money than buying a TurboSIM chip, and its more reliable(signal wise)
     
  9. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    Internet, but only at EDGE speeds.
     
  10. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #10
    Yes, you can use data. I think its 5.99 for the TZones pack. and You will rarely get 3G speeds, so, I'd suggest getting a first gen. iPhone and software unlocking that.
     
  11. gheavey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    #11
    i bought a 3g sim card from www.iphone-sim-unlock. it works great and i would recommend them to anyone
     
  12. 1rottenapple macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #12
    So what happens when there is a new software update for the turbosim unlock? Are you stuck at 2.1? And what happens if you have to restore your Iphone OS software? Does it removed the turbosim unlock?
     
  13. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #13
    I'm pretty sure that the unlock isn't fw based. Not sure though.
     

Share This Page