What do people think of Splash pages

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Renderz, Jan 14, 2010.

?

Are splash pages a good idea?

1. Yes.

6.5%
  2. No.

91.9%
  3. Don't care.

1.6%
  1. Renderz macrumors 6502

Hi all,

I've been a designer for almost 20 years now; I was designing websites when Splash pages were too popular (if you know what I mean). However, has that attitude changed at all?

Is it really that annoying to see a short introductory page, like a book cover?

I'd like this groups opinion on that as I would fasinated to know the result.

Thanks.

2. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

Don't like them
    I want to get to the site's info

Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]

3. Disc Golfer macrumors 6502a

Splash pages are less annoying than embedded audio but neither should be used imo. I too remember a time the concept was way way overused.. didn't like em then, don't like em now, clever or not, auto redirect or not, :pthbbbt.

4. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

Exactly. If I want to watch a site, I'll head to YouTube. Otherwise, I want to get to the content that I'm after. I'm sure the designer put a lot of effort into it, but they need to realize that over 90% of visitors just don't give a damn about their effort. Web sites are a place to share information and unless the splash page is very related to the content and is s form of the content, it should be avoided.

Also, I probably wouldn't realize a web site even has a splash page because I reach most sites through search results, which means I don't come in through the front door, and this is very typical these days.

5. gibbz macrumors 68030

6. ayale99 macrumors 6502

Also, they're bad for SEO. Google will index your splash page, which doesn't have your main content on it.

7. notjustjay macrumors 603

notjustjay

No. No no no no no no no no.

Did I mention no?