Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AndrewMRiv

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 29, 2013
Hello, all.

I am a bit new to the iPad world.

I have been using MacBooks for a lot of my tasks since 2010 and I recently just got an iPad. My my uses her iPad as a substitute for a laptop very often and my dad keeps telling me that I didn't need an iPad since I had a MacBook.

What do you do exclusively on your iPad that you cannot (or choose not to) do on your MacBook?

Also, visa verse. Also, what do you do on your MacBook that cannot (or you choose not to) be done on your iPad?

I personally mostly use my MacBook for web browsing, programming homework, watching videos, email, reading books for school, and iMessage. I also do all of that on my iPad as well (except for the programming homework). My desktop does the crazy load work including video editing, photoshop, gaming (booted into windows), recording music, etc.

Thank you.

GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008
You can run iOS apps on the iPad, many of which don't have OS X versions. However, there is more you can do with a Mac that you can't do with an iPad. On a Mac you can download and upload many more file types, rip DVDs and CDs, access external hard drives, run more processor and RAM-intensive apps, easily edit MS Office documents, and much more. I've been able to replace my Mac with an iPad for 85-90% of functions, but I still need a Mac for many things. If I could only have one, it would be a Mac.

Kendo

macrumors 68020
Apr 4, 2011
Hello, all.

I am a bit new to the iPad world.

I have been using MacBooks for a lot of my tasks since 2010 and I recently just got an iPad. My my uses her iPad as a substitute for a laptop very often and my dad keeps telling me that I didn't need an iPad since I had a MacBook.

What do you do exclusively on your iPad that you cannot (or choose not to) do on your MacBook?