What do you do with your Data when taking your Macbook Pro to get fixed?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Astrophys, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. Astrophys macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    #1
    I have horrible light leak in my screen again and plan on bringing it in for a second replacement. The first time I brought it in they had the laptop for about 3 days. The light leak wasn't as bad after the fixed it by putting in a new screen, but over the course of a year it has gotten much worse.

    I am curious what you do with your laptop before you bring it in and drop it off for a few days. Do you backup everything to time machine and then install a fresh OS system that deletes all your data on the computer. Then when you get it back fixed use time machine to load your original data?

    Also, I think I am having problems with my video card as well. I am on the unibody 15" macbook pro. Sometimes there is a glitch where the screen goes out for a partial second or becomes distorted, this happens ever hour or two.
     
  2. maviso5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Kent
    #2
    I haven't taken my machine in, but I personally, would use a program called superduper and clone my HD to an external HD.

    Whether you want to wipe the system is upto you, I would guess they would only repair the screen and have no reason to touch any of your data, but your choice entirely, if there's something confident you would want to.

    Then when I got it back I would clone it back the other way (if you wiped it of course)
     
  3. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #3
    I back up and then I give them my computer. Doesn't bother me because all I have to do is open the door to my right and I'm in the service centre.
     
  4. shadygrove macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #4
    I couldn't imagine anyone good at their job would actually care about looking at peoples' data. The amount of computers they repair would certainly take up their time rather than browsing somebody's pictures, videos, and documents. It could certainly happen, but I just wouldn't expect anyone to care. Out of all the years I have done this, I never looked at customers financial records or anything. I just fix the machine and get it out the door as quick as I can so I can get the money.

    But who knows...maybe people are a lot different than me.
     
  5. maviso5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Kent
    #5
    snap, i fix machines on a regular basis, and I don't have the time to sit and ponder what they may have. When theres a queue of machines waiting...
     
  6. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #6
    Not a MacBook Pro, but when I took my iMac in a few years ago to an AASP for service I cloned the internal hard drive to an external hard drive using Carbon Copy Cloner, then I did a clean install of the OS on the internal hard drive. When I got the iMac back, I just cloned the external hard drive back to the internal hard drive.
     
  7. ae3265 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #7
    Being a bit paranoid when it comes to backups, I have a Carbon Copy Cloner clone, a SuperDuper clone and Time Machine backup.

    At one time or another, I've restored from all three and been very pleased with the results. The nice thing about a clone is booting from it if I need to.
     
  8. Mactagonist macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    NYC - Manhattan
    #8
    I put the original HDD back in and drop it off. The original drive just stays in a new machine long enough to make sure it isnt defective, then it is replaced.
     
  9. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #9
    I always have a current backup, so I don't have to do anything special

    Any sensitive data I have that I wouldn't want anyone accessing is kept on an encrypted disk image anyway
     
  10. macjunk(ie) macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #10
    clone the HD like others have said...
    Also, put a password on your account and create a new admin account whose password you would be willing to share with the Apple technicians...
     
  11. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #11
    Crack open MBP
    remove SSD
    replace with stock drive OS loaded from the original system disks, patched to latest, w/ user name "test" and a copy of coconut battery.
    send/bring in

    Then when it's repaired I do the opposite in reverse order ;)
     
  12. LucidPsychosis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    #12
    Is someone embarrassed about the massive amount of porn on their laptop??

    Ah, I'm just messing:p I don't really have this problem because I don't really keep any private information on my computers. If I ever had to cross that bridge, I'd just clone my HDD to an external HDD and format it most likely.
     
  13. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #13
    If mine had to go for repair, i would put the stock HDD back and reload OS X on it. Too much personal information on my current HDD. How do you know if there looking at it or taking a disk image to look at it all later.
     

Share This Page