What do you expect from the next MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Lambros, Apr 25, 2010.

1. Lambros macrumors regular

Hey everyone,

So I'm looking at getting my first macbook pro in the NEXT release (which I guess is around late 2010/early 2011 dont you think?) Anyway, so I was wondering what I should expect from it. And, since I'm quite new to researching about MBPs, I thought people with a bit more experience in how specs/prices change with releases, you guys would be able to tell me what you expect from the next release?

Change in design? What change in specs? Also, price change?

I would prefer if you didnt post if you will simply rant about how one macbook series just got released, and we should wait a bit.

Thanks! :apple:

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Depends on when Apple is updating them. If the update is in 2011, we will likely see Sandy Bridge in MBPs, of course depending on Intel. I haven't heard any new about new Arrandale chips but I wouldn't be surprised if Intel comes up with couple new models in later 2010.

My post from other thread:

I doubt they redesign MBPs though, the current design is great

3. Lambros thread starter macrumors regular

That hardware would be amazing, although I guess a year from now, every man and his dog will have a blu ray player and usb 3.0...just as soon as the prices drop.

You're definitely right about design, it's great! What do you think about price though? That is...supposing all those updates do happen??

4. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Well, we won't see USB 3.0 before 2011 or 2012 as Intel isn't adopting it before. Blu-Ray is something that has been discussed to death, it's up to Apple. All with (?) are very unlikely. Prices should remain same though some models may get price cut or bump

5. cluthz macrumors 68040

cluthz

As apple just introduced new chipset and graphics solution I guess next revision would only be a minor upgrade.