What do you know how to do in terminal without looking up any commands?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dmmcintyre3, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #1
    Some of this is more useful over ssh than using the machine locally.

    I can:
    play music / alarms (hint: make the computer play a alarm while someone else is using it if you want them off of it)
    set the fan speed on a G4
    kill programs
    open GUI and command line programs
    logout all GUI users (sudo kill (loginwindow's pid))
    SSH (of course)
    search (mdfind)
    Make the computer talk (I forgot that one. It is fun to make the computer talk over ssh while someone else is using the computer)
    Control iTunes (really scares people who do not know you can do this)
    write shell scripts
     
  2. SHIFTLife macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #2
    You can screw up your computer quite well from the terminal :p

    Try this one:

    Type say My computer talks, then hit enter.

    Nothing special, but it can be fun :)
     
  3. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #3
    Umm, the better question is what can't you do from the Terminal. The Terminal can be used for anything that doesn't strictly require a GUI (i.e., it's not ideal for image editing, though it could launch your image in an image editing program). It's a full UNIX terminal though, you can do whatever you feel like if you know how.

    I use it all the time for copying files and troubleshooting.

    jW
     
  4. Benguitar Guest

    Benguitar

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #4
    The Terminal scares me..

    You can do just about everything from it, but you can screw up everything from it too.



    I stay away from the terminal... :rolleyes:
     
  5. lamadude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Brussels, BE
    #5
    If you ever used ubuntu or another linux distribution, most of the commands you use there work in OSX too. I use it mainly for copying and executing files.
     
  6. dmmcintyre3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
  7. dmmcintyre3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #7
    I was meaning what YOU know how to do without looking up any commands

    Change it to
    Code:
    say get off my computer
    and do it via SSH

    Windows command line is practically useless.I was meaning what YOU know how to do without looking up any commands
     
  8. djourd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    #8
    I would always to that to my mom. Saying stuff like "fatal error please shutdown immediately"
     
  9. dmmcintyre3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #9
    To do that go to system preferences click on sharing and enable "Remote Login" then go to your computer and type in terminal ssh (your user name or any user name on her computer that you know the password to)@(her ip address (it is in network preferences)) then type say and what you want it to say! I wish my whole family used Macs and then I could have some real fun with SSH.

    VNC is not as fun as SSH.
     
  10. LtRammstein macrumors 6502a

    LtRammstein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #10
    Man, what do I NOT USE in Terminal.app?

    I'm slowly turning into what I call a "Terminal-Whore." Since a lot of my senior level courses require me to provide a lot more documentation, and I don't like installing a lot of big and expensive Windows app, I find open source programs and what not.

    Thank God for MacPorts.
     
  11. Eric S. macrumors 68040

    Eric S.

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, California
    #11
    Since I have used CLI-based Unix for 30 years, I end up doing a lot from the terminal interface. :)
     
  12. dmmcintyre3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #12
    SSH with machine 1 to machine 2 then from machine 2 SSH into machine 1 then use say and have a conversation.

    Type a message on machine one and machine to will say it and it works the other way around
     
  13. doug in albq Suspended

    doug in albq

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #13
    I can type

    "hdapm disk0 max"

    to kick in the hdamp script that keeps my HDD from the aggressive power management that, among other things, increases the load_cycle_count on my HDD and makes the drive create this quiet yet annoying click.....
     

Share This Page