What do you think about those specs?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Sid The Kid, Aug 6, 2017.

  1. Sid The Kid Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    #1
    Hello,

    What do you think about those specs?

    I DON'T do any videos editing, music production and photo editing. Nothing.

    • 3.4GHz quad-core 7th-generation Intel Core i5 processor, Turbo Boost up to 3.8GHz
    • 8GB 2400MHz DDR4
    • 512GB SSD
    • Radeon Pro 570 with 4GB video memory

    Anyone with the same specs?

    I just want something fast. Is the Radeon Pro 570 with 4GB video memory powerful enough for that crystal clear 5K display? I'm pretty sure it is because Apple engineers obviously test all of their products before selling them.

    Thanks
     
  2. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    That sure is a fast Mac.
    The 570 will generously be fast enough. The 580 is only really required if you do "heavy gaming".
    I would advise 16 GB RAM or more for ultimate smoothness with large Photos libraries and such, getting 3rd party is fine.
     
  3. gian8989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #3
    I second this. Buy it with 8GB ram and upgrade later.
     
  4. propower macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #4
    The base model with SSD is a great machine. I demoed the stock one with Fusion Drive and it was perfectly fine for everyday use, browsing, watching 4K YouTube etc. No worries whatsoever.
     
  5. jzuena macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, MA, USA
    #5
    That's the specs of my new iMac. Base model with 512GB SSD. I did add an additional 16GB of memory after I got it. I don't see any display stuttering or other issues. I do some light video editing, but just 1080P, not 4K.
     
  6. Sid The Kid thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    #6
    Thank you
    --- Post Merged, Aug 7, 2017 ---
    Thank you.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 7, 2017 ---
    And it's pretty fast right? Thank you
    --- Post Merged, Aug 7, 2017 ---
    I will had 8 more GB RAM from a third party if I need it someday. On the website it can be upgraded to 32GB so it's means no 64GB even from third party RAM right? (I wont even upgrade to 32GB, just asking for curiosity)
     
  7. gian8989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #7
    The base model support up to 32GB while the other two up to 64GB.
    I suggest you not to buy a single ram module but to buy a kit so it works in dual channel (either 4GBx2 or better 8GBx2).
     
  8. whatevs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    SF
    #8
    all models should support 64GB of RAM. Only the CPU and GPU on the logic boards are different.

    It's Apple that doesn't offer a configuration you can buy of more than 32GB on the base model from them.
     
  9. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #9
    TextEdit will be flying on that machine. It will be so fast.
     
  10. jzuena macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, MA, USA
    #10
    It replaced an early 2009 mini, so it seems lightning fast to me! There were a few games (nothing high end) that bogged down the mini that run great on the iMac (a couple of Tomb Raider games, Civ V, and Rocksmith). The mini also barely kept up with X-Plane 9, so I never got 10. Now I may check out the demo for 11 to see how it runs on the iMac.

    There is no 64GB BTO, but you can put 64GB on the base model.
     
  11. gian8989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #11
    ah k. I thought they did something to lock it usable ram to 32GB.
     
  12. blufire95 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #12
    Yes, ordered mine today.
    I think the 570 is pretty good and enough for the 5K Display. In 5 years, nobody cares if you have 3.4 or 3.5 GHz or if you have a 570 or 575.
    The important components like the SSD, display or ports like Thunderbolt 3 are the same. The options for external displays (1x 5K or 2x 4K) are also the same.
     
  13. Sid The Kid thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    #13
    I hope so!!
    --- Post Merged, Aug 9, 2017 ---
    True. So I'm pretty sure that I will pull the trigger on the base model. But people won't pay attention to 3.4 3.5 570/575 in 5 years because new computers will have better and better specs?
     

Share This Page