What do you think is better?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Boilerhead, Jun 11, 2012.

1. Boilerhead macrumors newbie

I have been a windows user my entire life, but have decided to switch to Apple.

I have been looking into mac products now for the last couple of months. I was going to go with a 13" MBP if is had a bump in resolution and was still able to be upgraded by a third party. I was also waiting for the ivy bridge chips.

After WWDC today, I saw that the 13" was still unchanged as far as the display, and I don't think the current resolution is going to do it for me. So, I looked at the Macbook Air. Everything looks great, except the hardware is not able to be upgraded (RAM & SSD).

Also, I heard that a retina 13" will be coming out this August, which is very tempting, but I also don't want to pay $400 extra for a nicer display.

I am a college student that will be doing word processing, a little programming, email, and some cad.

Any thoughts on witch I should go with?

2. Stetrain macrumors 68040

The Airs have user replaceable SSDs, OWC sells replacements:

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/OWC/Aura_Pro_Express

I think that either a 13" Air or 15" Retina MBP would be best. The 15" is probably overkill for what you're going to be using it for.

The 13" Air is lighter than the equivalent MBP and has a higher resolution display.

I think a base model 13" Air with the 8GB of RAM upgrade (since you can't upgrade it later) is a great machine for the price.

3. Boilerhead thread starter macrumors newbie

I guess you can upgrade the SSD afterall... I do like the standard 2.5" drives however, as they are cheaper and I think they are faster as well.

Do you think the 13" pro with retina display will use the 2.5" drives?

I also like the black bezel on the Pro vs the MBA, but that's not that big of a deal. It just seems like a slight compromise with exactly what I want wichever way I go.