What do you use for the message alert?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by opticalserenity, Jul 17, 2007.

  1. opticalserenity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #1
    So, now that the message alert can be changed, what are you using? Post them here please.

    Anything is better than that default beep :)
     
  2. D1G1T4L macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    My phone can still only use the default........

    Not going to hack just to change ringtones or alerts.
     
  3. opticalserenity thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #3
    Uhhm, ok, I see no relevance between this and the OP. :rolleyes:
     
  4. D1G1T4L macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    What message alert am I using? Default.

    I thought that is what you are asking. Maybe I'm wrong.

    I am using default as I don't think the trade off of hacking for a ringtone/alert is worth it to me. That is just my opinion and why I'm sticking with default right now.
     
  5. lilnyc macrumors 6502a

    lilnyc

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #5
    Same. On my other phone, it was easy to go into the directory and change alerts and ringtones b/c it was a Pocket PC phone. I do miss that ability, but not so much that I'll risk my iPhone's functionality and potentially the warranty.
     
  6. earnjam macrumors 6502a

    earnjam

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    Agreed. I am using default as well.

    If the default tone was a screech that caused my ears to bleed I might consider it, but it's just a simple beep.

    I like my phone and I want it to keep working more than I want to change the tones.
     
  7. ShockerMan4x4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #7
    I'm considering changing it to the CTU file that was provided in the mac guide to putting in ringtones.
     
  8. ejrizo macrumors 6502

    ejrizo

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    thats exactly what i was thinking of doing...
     
  9. badtzmaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #9
    I havent changed the default beep yet but i added ringtones. I haven't figured out what I'm going to use for the message alerts.
     
  10. timotheezz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #10
    hey that sounds like an awesome idea dude. i'm thinking of using the old aol IM sound for incoming sms, "you've got mail" for new mail, "you've got voicemail" for vmail obviously.

    okay, might sound corny but i did that with my first ever smart phone back in 2003, the motorola MPX200, and have been stuck with verizon until recently so i wasn't able to customize anything really.

    anyways, i finally did the ringtone hack last night. worked on my phone. did it on my friend's phone, worked fine. he wanted to change his sms sound, and i followed the instructions on www.hacktheiphone.com, and i ran into some trouble.

    are you supposed to write "putfile sms-received.caf" while you're in the ringtones directory? or are you supposed to go to the UISounds directory and put the files there?

    a screenshot of your terminal window would be much appreciated the next time you decide to hack ur iphone and put in that CTU sound.

    thanks
     
  11. badtzmaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #11
    my experience is that you have to put the full path name, including directory, for putfile to work.
     
  12. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #12
    I am using the default until either:

    a) Apple releases a patch to fix this and add custom ring tones
    b) I am oncall in 2 weeks, if its not resolved by then by Apple then I will need to hack in my custom ring tone.

    I wonder what the hold up is, I am surprised they haven't fixed this yet.
     
  13. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #13
    I am using the default, and always will.

    I added some ringtones though. :cool:
     

Share This Page