Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cybersecPat

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2024
So what do you use the iPad for? What model?

I have an M2 iPad 11" with the USB C Apple Pencil and Magic keyboard.

I use it for a lot of stuff. I find it superior to my M2 mini desktop for things like:
- Photo editing
- Web browsing
- Music Production
- Writing code (on the go. Still better on the Mac but it is quite serviceable on iPad OS).
- Playing games
- Light video editing
- Adobe Illustrator (usually for making diagrams)
- Writing documentation
- Managing remote servers

I just feel that it does all of the above items (besides writing code) better than my Mac Mini. I'm more likely to pick up my iPad than hammer out stuff on my Mac even when I'm sitting right in front of it. And universal control makes that even easier.

RickTaylor

macrumors 6502a
Nov 9, 2013
I'm a math instructor at a community college. I use a 12.9" 2018 iPad pro together with an Apple pencil as a virtual whiteboard using Good Notes. I connect it to a projector if I'm teaching in person, or to Zoom if I'm teaching online. I can make a video recording of the lecture available to students later, along with a PDF of the notes. I also use it for writing solutions to exams, filling out forms, and the like.

I still use my Macbook for typing up exams, notes, and so on. I only use the 12.9" iPad for creating things that involve the Apple Pencil.

I also have an iPad mini 6, which I use for reading or viewing the Internet when I'm in a coffee shop or the like.

muzzy996

macrumors 65816
Feb 16, 2018