What does a 1.5TB drive format to? + Drobo question

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Chupa Chupa, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #1
    Here is the deal:

    I originally formated my Drobo to 2TBs which I've now outgrown and need to reformat to avoid having two partitions. That requires that I xfer the data on a Drobo to another HD.

    Right now I have 1.2TB of data on the Drobo. I'm pretty a 1.5TB drive will be able to handle this, but not 100%. Will it once it's formatted?

    Next question: is migrating data from a Drobo to an ext. drive as easy as using Carbon Copy Cloner or Super Duper and cloning the Drobo and then using CCC/SD again to send the data back to the Drobo? Do these apps see the Drobo as one drive and Drobo does the rest, as it normally does?
     
  2. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #2
    If I'm doing this right, a 1.5TB drive will hold 1.46TB of data. (I'm pretty sure you just divide by 1024.)

    As for the transferring, that's what I'd do. Clone the drobo, then clone back when the new drives are in.
     
  3. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #3
    You're doing it wrong.
     
  4. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #4
    I tried.
     
  5. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #5
    ALthough, if you're on Snow Leopard, it doesn't matter. A 1.5TB drive will fit 1.5TB of data as SL calculates file sizes.
     
  6. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #6
    Yes, Snow Leopard calculates and properly labels in TB.

    1.5TB is 1.5TB. It's not 1.5TiB.

    Previous versions of OSX calculate in TiB but mislabel as TB.
     

Share This Page