What does GSM on Iphone mean and is it better than CDMA?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by wfiphone, Apr 19, 2009.

  1. wfiphone macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #1
    People always say Iphone has GSM. What is that?

    They also say it does not have CDMA. What is that? Is it better?
     
  2. cWeems macrumors 6502a

    cWeems

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    FLORIDA, USA
    #2
    type of network it runs on... google is an awesome tool.

    GSM - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    GSM (Global System for Mobile communications)

    Code division multiple access - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    Code division multiple access (CDMA)
     
  3. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #3
    GSM and CDMA are different wireless protocols used in the mobile phone industry.

    You can find more about them at This link.
     
  4. wfiphone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #4
    ohh ok.

    So when I go overseas I can just put another SIM card from a local wireless company and buy minutes and my iphone will work?

    I don't get it i thought the iphone was locked
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    It wont work with other companys sim cards unless you jailbreak it.
     
  6. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #6
    You can't just put another SIM in it, but you can roam on those networks with your AT&T SIM card.

    Call AT&T and ask about international roaming plans. It will be much cheaper with a plan.
     
  7. wfiphone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #7
    Ok thanks guys.

    So just one more thing to make sure I got it:

    ATT uses GSM network to connect to other networks overseas with the same SIM that's in my Iphone right now...
     
  8. cWeems macrumors 6502a

    cWeems

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    FLORIDA, USA
    #8
    yea honestly just use your iphone as a touch overseas and buy a cheap prepaid phone while you're over there, will be much cheaper. assuming u dont want your same number.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Yes, your current sim inside the iphone would work in most places wolrdwide.
    It would just roam on other networks at other countrys.
    That might get expensive if you talk alot or acess the internet while away from AT&T.
    Make sure you find out how much and where cause it can be up there.
     
  10. wfiphone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #10
    Ok cool.

    Dang, now I get why the unlocked BB Bold costs about a million dollars it's DEF a nice luxury to have.

    Is there an unlocked Iphone 3G where I can change out sims anywhere in the world?

    just get the sim from a local wireless provider and some minutes and "boom goes the dynamite." lol
     
  11. Deatheaters macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    For around $700 I believe you can find a factory unlocked iphone that would work with any sim without any hacking.

     
  13. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #13
    Factory-unlocked iPhones (officially unlocked either right out of the box or via a carrier settings update once you've paid the fee to your chosen carrier.

    Here in Australia we have four networks selling the iPhone so to have it unlocked you pay your carrier a certain fee, they upload the IMEI number to a central database and when you plug the iPhone into your computer a Carrier Settings Update is downloaded and you're presented with the famous "Congratulations, Your iPhone is now unlocked" screen.
     
  14. kas23 macrumors 603

    kas23

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #14
    As for the question of GSM vs CDMA quality, it depends on the carrier's network and volume on the network. For example, Sprint is CDMA and AT&T is GSM. I switch from Sprint last year and my opinion is that Sprint offers a better network (voice quality and speed) than AT&T. Some may disagree with this or throw out red herrings like Sprint's customer service sucks (so everything about Sprint must suck).
     

Share This Page