what does Quicktime logo with a question mark mean?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by zoran, Jun 5, 2014.

  1. zoran, Jun 5, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2014

    zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    Im trying to watch Apples keynote in Chrome, but in the center of the keynote video box, the quicktime logo appears along with a question mark. Can anyone help me on this?
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    The site says it requires Safari 4 or later, so I am guessing something about the Quicktime plugin in Chrome does not work with the video. You are going to need to use Safari.
     
  3. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #3
    Thanx but how can it be possible that Chrome (which is a more advanced browser than Safari) cannot be able to manage quicktime videos? Can it be a matter of an equivalent plugin?
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Chrome can use QT though... you can see here on my install of Chrome the QT plugin is available and enabled.

    It could just be something Apple did on the site to make it Safari only. I don't really know.

    [​IMG]

    Edit: I just went to the events site in Chrome and it works for me. Maybe you don't have the Chrome plugin installed, although a default OS X install includes it? I got a bar at the top asking if I wanted to allow the QT plugin to run on that site, and after I approved it the video worked.

    Code:
    chrome:plugins
    Enter this in the address bar and see if it is listed there.

    You should be able to see the QT plugin in this folder.

    Code:
    /Library/Internet Plug-Ins
     
  5. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #5
    Thanx, well it seems that Qtime is there, but is this (Version: 7.6.6) the latest version though?
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Mine seems newer, but that may be because I am on Mavs. I would think the earlier version would still work though. :confused:
     
  7. iDuel macrumors 6502a

    iDuel

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Greece/USA
    #7
    For the sole purpose of watching the keynote, are you that against using Safari? According to Apple's website you need Safari 4 or higher. To save yourself any extra hassle, just use Safari.
     
  8. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #8
    Well yes you are absolutely right, its just that i like the idea of having one thing for all and not switch between many to get my job done ;)
     

Share This Page