What does the "Preview" App do?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jusacruiser, Apr 26, 2011.

  1. jusacruiser macrumors 6502

    jusacruiser

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    #1
    I don't understand what the "Preview" app does. What is it good for? :confused:
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
  3. DeaconGraves macrumors 65816

    DeaconGraves

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #4
    It allows you to view .pdfs, .jpegs, .gifs, etc.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    Mac 101: Preview (Mac OS X v10.5 and later) says:
    found via "mac preview"
     
  5. benhollberg macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #6
    It is a viewer for PDF and such. Also allows you to take screen shots. Those are the two features I use most in Preview.
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    How does Preview take screenshots?
     
  7. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    File->Take Screen Shot
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    Thanks. Though it is quite cumbersome compared to the keyboard shortcuts to take screenshots.
     
  9. benhollberg macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #10
    I never knew that. Command+Shift+4 will save me so much time, thanks.
     
  10. jusacruiser thread starter macrumors 6502

    jusacruiser

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    #11
    Wow, I never knew what the preview app was supposed to do. Your responses will help me begin with that app. thanks!

    I have a question about the screen shot......i went to file>take screen shot. Then I tried to paste it in a Pages Document and it did not work. What am I doing wrong?
     
  11. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #12
    Is there any reason you can't figure out how to use copy paste from the screenshot within preview?
     
  12. jusacruiser thread starter macrumors 6502

    jusacruiser

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    #13
    No, I guess not. I could probably do copy and paste. I was trying to use the screen shot feature instead to see how it works.
     
  13. romad7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
  14. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #15
    When you took the screenshot, the shot screen loads in a new Preview window. Press CMD+A, then CMD+C to copy it.
    Or use the shortcuts listed here.
     
  15. jusacruiser thread starter macrumors 6502

    jusacruiser

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    #16
    Ok, thanks.
     

Share This Page