iPhone What does this error Messgae mean?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by angelwings, May 13, 2013.

  1. angelwings macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    #1
    How do I fix this?

    http://i.imgur.com/lszcNS5.png

    ----------

    Also when I go into packages the list is empty :/
     
  2. lukejc1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #2
  3. angelwings thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    #3


    Was just wondering why it randomly decided it was as issue as everything was working fine before and I didn't add or remove packages!
     
  4. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #4
    It isn't random….
     
  5. ~Ks383~ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #5
    One or more of the repos you have must have added packages which pushed it over the limit.
     
  6. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #6
    that is indeed what the other 10+ threads on this issue say...
     
  7. angelwings thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    #7

    No matter how many packages I delete, I cannot add ModMyi back without an error message :/
     
  8. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #8
    You deleted a default repo? Why did you do that?

    To add ModMyi, you can try going to the main Cydia page, scroll down to More Package Sources, then try adding ModMyi from there. That's normally how you add default repos. Good luck.
     
  9. angelwings thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    #9

    I deleted ModMyi because it kept bringing up the error message I posted in my link.

    However, I have just tried to delete others to try and re-add ModMyi but it always brings up the error message.

    Already tried it via the more packages method too.
     
  10. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #10
    This will reset Cydia to startting point, all your repo's will be deleted, but all installed apps remain ofcourse:

    Navigate to /private/etc/apt/sources.list.d

    Delete the file "cydia.list"

    Navigate to /var/lib/apt/lists

    Delete all of the files in this folder except the one called "lock"

    Navigate to /var/lib/apt/lists/partial

    Delete all of the files in this folder

    Navigate to /var/lib/cydia

    Delete the file "metadata.plist"

    Restart Cydia. You should be at the first screen you saw when you first started Cydia: What kind of user are you? Make your selection and Cydia will re-generate the default sources.
     
  11. angelwings thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    #11


    Now cydia just crashes after asking what user I am ;( ;((((
     
  12. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #12
    Download latest release and install it manually or put the deb in AutoInstall folder
     
  13. angelwings thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    #13

    I managed to fix it by re-creating the "partial" folder.

    However after I set up cydia and added ModMyi, I still get the same error message :/
     
  14. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #14
    Remove none essential repo's, you have too many, cydia is not designed for it.
     
  15. angelwings thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    #15

    That's the thing,

    I have had the same amount of repos since day 1 however it has suddenly only been an issue around a week ago :/

    I also only have 3 additional repos on top of the default ones and deleting them 3 do not fix the issue as ModMyi continues to error untill it is deleted.
     
  16. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #16
    You could try iCleaner to fix Cydia. Just then on "Cydia Sources" and run run iCleaner. Not sure if it'll work but worth a shot at this point.
     
  17. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #17
    It doesn't matter how long you've had the repos. It just means that the repos have added more files, apps, tweaks, etc... and that pushed cydia over the limit.
     
  18. angelwings thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    #18

    Why does this happen?

    Why cannot Cydia handle it?

    ----------


    Thanks for the suggestion, installed iCleanerPro however it didn't solve the problem.
     
  19. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #19
    Cydia is designed to handle a maximum number of packages that's all. If you exceed that it brings up the error

    remove modmyi and the extra repo's

    did you reboot in between?

    try the above procedure again.
    otherwise reinstall Cydia with a downloaded deb
     
  20. angelwings thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    #20


    I have removed, rebooted and then re-added with only the default repos and ModMyi and it continues to bring up the error.

    How would I go about re-installing Cydia?
     
  21. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #21
    donwload the latest deb

    either with ifile

    or put it in private/var/root/media/cydia/AutoInstall and reboot

    create the last 2 if not there.
     
  22. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #22
    Download link

    Assuming you are on iOS 6, cydia should be version 1.1.8

    http://apt.saurik.com/cydia/debs/cydia_1.1.8_iphoneos-arm.deb
     

Share This Page