What drive do you recommend as a replacement in my 27" 2010?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jonnysods, Oct 12, 2014.

  1. jonnysods macrumors 603

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #1
    I've looked around, some people have good and bad experiences with their drives. I want to make sure I get the best one. Mine is a Samsung 1TB but it's on the fritz and Disk Utility keeps telling me it's time to replace it as I have SMART errors.

    I was thinking about getting the Caviar Black.

    Just leaning on the experts here for their opinion!

    ----------

    I was thinking about this one right here: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822236625
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator emeritus

    SandboxGeneral

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #2
  3. jonnysods thread starter macrumors 603

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #3
    I would love an SSD but I don't have the money to do that right now. Just had a bunch of car repairs and now this.

    Was just hoping to spend $100 on a fix.
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator emeritus

    SandboxGeneral

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #4
    In that case, the HDD you've selected should work just fine. Plenty of storage space, high spindle speed and a good amount of cache. It also seems to have good reviews and a high rating.
     
  5. jonnysods thread starter macrumors 603

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #5
    Thanks! I'll order it and see how it goes.

    I read your install and process of getting your SSD in, I think one thing that is nice about the Black is that the heat sensor shouldn't trigger in the iMac. But just in case I'll tape on that board like you did to avoid the sensors making the fans blaze.

    I'm a bit of a novice, wish me luck! Don't want to pay for a massive repair!!
     
  6. SandboxGeneral Moderator emeritus

    SandboxGeneral

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #6
    Since you're using a regular hard drive, the fan thing will not be an issue you will need to deal with. Just plug the sensor into the new hard drive and everything will work as it should.
     
  7. jonnysods thread starter macrumors 603

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #7
    Even better news, thanks!

    Now to find a room that is dust free so I can do this. I'm actually considering doing it in our bathroom!
     
  8. SandboxGeneral Moderator emeritus

    SandboxGeneral

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #8
    Yah, good luck! That display is huge and keeping dust off if it is difficult.
     
  9. jonnysods thread starter macrumors 603

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #9
    Success! I did it last night after waiting ages for my suction cups to come from ebay. The hardest thing was keeping dust off of it, but I seemed to get it cleaned off!
     
  10. SandboxGeneral Moderator emeritus

    SandboxGeneral

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #10
    Good deal, I'm glad it worked out. :D
     

Share This Page