What drives work with Early 2011 MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 2ndchancephones, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. 2ndchancephones macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    #1
    I have a MacBook Pro, early 2011 model with a 320 g hard drive. Im running out of space. Question is, how do I find out exactly what hard drives will work in this machine.

    Thanks!
     
  2. w00t951 macrumors 68000

    w00t951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    Pretty much any HDD or SSD will work as long as it fits and has the proper connectors.

    Freeing up drive space in Mac OS X
     
  4. 2ndchancephones thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    #4
    Awesome! So, I can get one of these at Best Buy?
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    Yep.
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Yes, as long as it has a maximum height of 12.5mm, thus no 2.5" 2 TB HDDs.

    I hope you also employ backups.

    MacBook, MacBook Pro: Replacing the Hard Disk Drive, transferring data to the new HDD

    the guide includes:
    • 0. Identify your MacBook or MacBook Pro
    • 1. Getting a new HDD
    • 2. Guides to replace the internal HDD with a newer one
    • 3. Transferring data from the old HDD to the new HDD
    • 4. Using the optical disk drive (ODD) slot for placing an SSD or HDD inside the MB/P (OPTIBAY)
     
  7. 2ndchancephones thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    #7
    Thanks for the link!

    ----------

    Wow! Thanks guys for all the info.
     
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    If you're running OS X 10.7 or 10.8 then you should also check that you have the latest firmware update before you replace the drive.
     
  9. 2ndchancephones thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    #9
    I'm running ML....
     
  10. Rhyalus macrumors 6502

    Rhyalus

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #10
    I have the exact same model.

    I replaced the 320 HDD with the Samsung 840 SSD (not the Pro). The Pro is faster but also much more expensive.

    FWIW, I also did a clean install and went to Mountain Lion.

    R
     

Share This Page