What exactly is crossover for steam?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by AustinD, Mar 8, 2008.

  1. AustinD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #1
    Before I had the mac spotlight shine down on me through my dirty windows, I played a few games on my pc. Luckily, its dead now, and im never going back to windows, and have absolutely no thoughts of putting vista/xp on my baby. But schoolwork has been slow lately, and ive seen ever faildogs.com picture, so im wanting to start my CS:S gaming back up, and have a few questions.


    1. With 'crossover,' does that allow me to run steam (css) through my mac without installing vista?

    2. If so, how cleanly will it run? I have a 20" 2.0 1gb baseline alum. imac.

    3. If the aforementioned are successful, who wants to play some welcome-back-to-CS:S games? :D
     
  2. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #2
    It will run steam. I had it installed and ran TF2 and it didn't do that bad. If you have the baseline alum and the lower end graphics card it might not run that well.

    Maybe with settings tweaks it might be tolerable.
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    There's a new version in beta that is specifically designed for Steam games. They should run a bit better then :)
     
  4. ZiggyPastorius macrumors 68040

    ZiggyPastorius

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Berklee College of Music
    #4
    Hmm, both Source and 1.6 ran fine on my Macbook. Source was a little bit choppier, but, I'm sure your iMac will be able to handle it. Just grab Crossover for Mac 'til the 30 trial is up and make sure you like it, then buy it if you'd like :D Why Source, by the way? 1.6 is more fun in my opinion. :p
     
  5. AustinD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #5
    Well, I got crossover, and am now working on getting css. Ill let you guys know how it all goes.

    Thanks! ;)
     
  6. AustinD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #6
    Boy did I miss CS:S. If it werent for two 11 year olds bickering over awps then id still be on.

    Start up took a while, and closing it was a bit sketchy and left my dock invisible but with reflections so I restarted my computer and am fine now.

    Everything ran perfectly fine, except the text was a bit messed up.

    Final question, this works with all games that I can buy through steam right?
     
  7. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #7
    I wouldn't say "ALL" games bought through steam. A quick look at the compatibility section at the crossover website will tell you what games do and do not work.
     
  8. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #8
    where did you find it? I have the bought version of crossover and all i use it for is steam games.
     
  9. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #9
    the games running the source engine are most likely to work, because crossover only supports directX 8 (source games support it)
     
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    It's a private beta. I'm not in it, I just have big ears :)
     
  11. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #11
    damnit :( where did you hear about it?
     
  12. redsteven macrumors 6502a

    redsteven

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #12

    well, i did hear about a "crossover for games," but apparently they decided to hide the information on their website, because i wasn't able to find it at all there when I last checked.


    AND BTW, Austin, you probably should upgrade to 2 gigs of ram for gaming. 1 gig barely cuts it these days.
    www.dealram.com
     
  13. pionata macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal
    #14
    I just got Guild Wars to work with CrossOver. Very neat little app.
     
  14. katorga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #15
    Guildwars and OSX

    Crossover and GW works like champ for me, except for losing the mouse cursor sometimes when I switch away and back to the game. I use Crossover (and wine on ubuntu) to play older Windows games such as Baldur's Gate I/II, Planescape Torment and other goodies.
     

Share This Page