What external CD / DVD drives are you using?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by bingefeller, Jan 10, 2017.

1. bingefeller macrumors 6502

I'm considering getting an external CD/DVD drive for my MBA and was wondering what everyone else is using?

All I need mine for is ripping CDs to iTunes - I don't rip or watch DVDs.

I had a look on amazon.co.uk and lots of makes came up that I'd never heard of. Brands such as VicTsing, Version Tech, and Tabiger. They seem to get good reviews but I've never heard of these companies ever.

2. Macgyver1 macrumors member

Macgyver1

For that kind of use, I'd go AppleSuperdrive(I have no experience with one mind you). I've got a samsung SE-506CB that I use for my DVD and blu-ray needs. It's hooked up to a hell, I mean dell laptop. The drive has performed well, no complaints(Windows 10 is a different story).

If you don't go the Apple route, I Think Pioneer drives are getting good reviews as of late; albeit a little pricey.

Best

3. lostless macrumors 6502

Pretty much any external DVD drive will work. I use an lg blueray drive with my new MBP with no issues

4. Bart Kela Suspended

Bart Kela

I have an external LaCie CD/DVD burner and a Pioneer Blu-ray reader (that also functions as a CD/DVD burner). I think each was about US$25 from Amazon.com when I purchased them years ago.

Not sure if the brand matters these days, these are commodity accessories.

Based on your proposed usage, it sounds like pretty much anything could work.

5. imanidiot Suspended

I use a cheap Samsung I got on Amazon and it's fine.

6. bingefeller thread starter macrumors 6502

7. Jyby macrumors 6502

I have a generic PC liton drive that I connect with a SATA to USB converter and a molex to SATA Power power supply.

DVD drive - $30
    SATA to USB 3.0 - $30
    Molex Power + adapter to SATA Power - $15