What Firewire chipset in iMac 2010-2011?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by omnisphere, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. omnisphere macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #1
    Is it Texas Instruments=the best or Agere Lucent=unstable?
    :confused:
     
  2. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #2
    Im failing to see why this even matters.

    And wheres your proof that one is better than the other?
     
  3. omnisphere thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; sv-se) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    The Texas Instruments dont have Any compatible problems with sound cards but Lucent, Agere has major problems with many different sound card brands. I want to know if I am going to have problems with The new iMac. You want proof! Read RME forums about iMac problems and other brands like TC electronics, Focusrite, Motu, Echo audio, and many more. As a music producer it is very important that The Firewire chipset does work with all brands and today it is only TI chipset that does.
     
  4. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #4
    why didnt you post that in the first place?

    What do the RME forum people say?
     
  5. omnisphere thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #5
    The sound cards drop connection sporadic, distorted sound, strange noises and rattle sounds.

    Sometimes the sound card can not connect at all.

    All this with Agere-Lucent Firewire chipset, but no problems with TI chipset.

    This Firewire (Lucent-Agere)chipset is built in since 2006 and now I do not know what chipset, so that is my question!

    Apple is aware of this but they do not care to solve it? I mean it is simple to just put the TI chipset in there again.
    :rolleyes:
     
  6. soulfunk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    #6
    @ omnisphere. Did you ever find out what chipset? I'm in the same position as you and would like to find out....
     
  7. jayhawk11 macrumors 6502a

    jayhawk11

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #7
    LSI/Agere Revision 8 is used in all current Mac's that support FireWire. The issues mentioned in this thread are no longer a problem with these chipsets. See here:

    http://www.rme-audio.de/forum/viewtopic.php?id=9369
     
  8. soulfunk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    #8
    Thanks Jayhawk11....
    I'm using the Mbox2Pro...switching from PC to Mac. Does anybody have any experience with this combination? ie. any problems with the new iMac firewire chipset..?
     
  9. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #9
    What is an "Mbox2Pro"??? I never heard of such a computer or device.

    And what is the RME forum?
     
  10. mike457 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario
    #10
    Is this where I point out that Google is your friend? :)

    RME forum


    MBox2Pro
     

Share This Page