what games can this powermac g4 handle?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by kenmasters, Dec 23, 2007.

  1. kenmasters macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #1
    i got an early christmas gift...its an owc 1.2ghz cpu upgrade!!

    my specs are.

    1.2ghz 2mb l2 cache
    512mb ram
    geforce 2mx this will be upgraded to a geforce 6200 in a few days
    30gig hdd
    dvd-rom
    osx 10.4.8

    i also have a cordless rumble pad 2 controller.

    will i be able to play some mac games other than quake 3?

    how will unreal tournament 2003/2004 run??
     
  2. Lord Zedd macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
  3. socamx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    #3
    First off, forget UT2003. No more master server so there are next to zero players.

    UT2004 will have to be run at very modest settings. Probably 800x600, medium or default graphical settings. You might be able to turn a couple things up, but the default settings should be pretty playable at 800x600, maybe even 1024x768.

    Just don't hold your breath for good ONS performance however. ONS maps are huge and processor intensive. Couple this with large online games and you have a death sentence for older computers.
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    Here are some:

    No One Lives Forever (sneak around to hear all the funny conversations, then cap them)
    Ghost Recon
    Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast
    Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy
    Soldier of Fortune II
    Diablo 2
    FA-18
    James Bond 007: NightFire (your system is near minimum requirement)
     
  5. Mac.Jnr macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    #5
    Here Help

    i can run halo on my old g4 800 mhz 256 mb ram 16 mb graphics card low settings also quake 3 at low setttings and i could run UT2004 low settings
     
  6. fblack macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    I was able to run the first Call of Duty on a QS 933mhz with a wimpy geforce 4MX, toned down but pretty smoothly even in multiplayer. Halo was about 800x600 with most things turned down.

    Your 6200 graphics card will be better than what I had. However, I also had a gig of Ram and a 7200rpm HD with an 8mb cache. Your low ram will mean slow load times on some games and a speedier drive couldn't hurt.
     

Share This Page