What games for Core Duo Macbook?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by PowerGamerX, Nov 19, 2009.

  1. PowerGamerX macrumors 6502a

    PowerGamerX

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #1
    Okay this has probably been asked quite a few times but I've been having a hard time finding good answers so I decided to make my own topic.

    I have a White Core Duo Macbook. I know that the GMA 950 in it is far from being ideal, but I like to push what I can out of limited hardware. I'd prefer Mac native games as well. Currently all I have is WoW which works fine and is playable (20fps and up is playable for me) on native resolution.

    So as far as suggestions, I would like to play in the native res, as well as get over 17fps. I don't want any suggestions of games that I would need Windows for, just Mac games please. Other than that I'm open to anything.

    If you need the full set of specs for some reason:

    Core Duo 1.8ghz
    2gb ram (1x PC 4200 533mhz DDR2 2gb)
    60gb Hard Drive
    OSX Snow Leopard
     
  2. Wotan31 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #2
    GMA950? Try Solitaire. Or perhaps Chess. A good game of mental wit can be very entertaining.
     
  3. PowerGamerX thread starter macrumors 6502a

    PowerGamerX

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #3

    I hate these stupid responses. Yes I like Chess and Solitaire, but throwing out completely unhelpful reply's does nothing for anybody. What makes me angry is this is the first reply on any topic of this sort. My gaming PC is fairly high end, but there are times when I would like to play a decent FPS or racing game on the go. Why can't people just throw out some decent suggestions?

    Thanks for a completely unhelpful response!

    -Ryan
     
  4. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #4
    Jedi Knight 2, Jedi Academy, Black and White, Return to Castle Wolfenstein, Quake 3, Unreal Tournament, Max Payne, Warcraft 3, Civilization 4 (I think), Age of Empires 3.
    These should all run ok.
     
  5. PowerGamerX thread starter macrumors 6502a

    PowerGamerX

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #5
    Totally forgot about RTCW. Enemy Territory is amazing :cool:
     
  6. colbertnation macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #6
    Dude, Civilization IV Beyond the Sword, hands down. Amazing game. You'll love it after playing it just once. It can be a bit addicting tho, lol.
    There's also Call of Duty, (I'm not sure if modern Warfare 2 came out for mac, but you can certainly buy Modern Warfare 1). There's also Battlefield 2142 or 1940 if you're into that.
    Splinter Cell is a good game, also.
     
  7. nick1516 macrumors 6502a

    nick1516

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #7
    Haha, did you even read his specs? Modern Warfare would be like a slideshow on that laptop.
     
  8. Joru macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #8
    Don't know if you like RTS but homeworld 2 is an awesome game and should run fairly wll on your machine.
     
  9. PowerGamerX thread starter macrumors 6502a

    PowerGamerX

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #9
    This went through my head too. The x3100 could barely run it how could the gma950 without harware t&l even start up the game?
     
  10. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #10
    Because there is nothing that's younger than five years that could decently be played on that specific hardware. Unreal Tournament 2004 or Return to Castle Wolfenstein are probably already too much for that graphics chip. I'd say that everything beyond the Quake 2 graphics engine will most likely bring that machine to its knees.

    Half-Life 1 on Windows might work - it's an enhanced Quake 1 engine that does not necessarily require 3D acceleration. And although they're ten years old now, Half-Life 1, Opposing Force and Blue Shift (and all the mods like They Hunger that have been made for them) are still great games.

    Diablo 2 will also work - even on OS X.

    But face it: The GMA950 chip is a great choice for Linux and its 3D desktop effects (because of Intel's great open source driver support), but it's the worst possible choice for games.
     
  11. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #11
    GMA 950 Macbook i had before this one ran

    Half Life 2 smooth dx8.1 mode
    World of Warcraft
    Rollercoaster tycoon 3 (slows down as it fills up)
    Sims 2
    Unreal Tournament 2004

    Thats about all i tried really, a interesting note that world of warcraft ran much better on my GMA 950 than it did on my friends GMA 3100.
     
  12. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #12
    I think the max you'll be running is Half Life 2, not the episodes since they use a newer and more demanding engine. But there's a lot you can play.
    I'd go for;

    Sim City 3000
    RCT1+2
    Unreal 1, 2, Tournament 99, 2004.
    Half Life 2 and HL2 Deathmatch (before TF2 and L4D I was addicted to this)
    Half Life 1 and expansion packs
    Cave Story
    Satan Sam (;))
     
  13. colbertnation macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #13
    lol, I actually didn't. I was getting pretty sleepy, but I thought I would respond to this last post before going to sleep. haha
     
  14. Wotan31 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #14
    Did I mention Backgammon? That's a personal favorite, and can be rather challenging.
     
  15. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #15
    Google up GMABooster, it may help with framerates, basically overclocks the GMA 950 but as long as you don't do it too much it shouldn't hurt.
     
  16. capoeirista macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    #16
    I can confirm that Half life 1 works absolutely fine. I've been playing it again recently via crossover games, and it works full screen, decent resolution (I forget which). Opposing force also works, but Blue shift doesn't??

    I think I need to buy a better laptop (or a console, but that would require buying a TV as well, sigh...).
     

Share This Page