What Handbrake preset do I use?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by DotCom2, Apr 10, 2010.

  1. DotCom2 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #1
    I'm a n00b!
    What preset do I use in Handbrake to encode movies for my iPad?
    Thank you!
     
  2. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #2
    I use Apple TV, it works great.
     
  3. DotCom2 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #3
    THANK YOU!
     
  4. WERA Cannoli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #4
    Yep, Apple TV is all you need. My entire library is already formatted for AppleTV so it's an easy drag and drop :p
     
  5. sJv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Sierra Foothills, CA
    #5
    Be careful with the apple tv preset. I encoded over 100 DVDs using handbrake 0.92 using the appletv preset. Most will not download to the iPad and no one seems to know why. They should play fine. In fact, they do play using air video with no transcoding.

    I've heard that the universal setting found in 0.93 and later works for both ipad and appletv.
     
  6. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #6

    +1
     
  7. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #7
    Are you movies mp4 or m4v?
     
  8. mpuck972 macrumors 6502

    mpuck972

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
  9. pvmacguy macrumors 65816

    pvmacguy

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    Jax
  10. flcruzr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #10
    What is handbrake? AppleTV? Sounds interesting!
     
  11. CarboysDesire macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #11
    There is a wikipedia entry to describe Handbrake.

    I read it. I downloaded it.


    I used it on one of my 2-hour concert DVDs and the last step, the encoding part, it has been running for over 2 hours and it says it has 14 hours to go.

    Something's wrong, right? It can't be that slow. Should I abort?
     
  12. Maaz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
  13. boatski macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #13
    I used the default setting. All mine are m4v.
     
  14. GermanSuplex macrumors 6502a

    GermanSuplex

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #14
    I would go with universal. All my movies are decent sized, play at the DVD resolution and play fine on my apple tv, iPhone and iPad. No problems at all. The apple tv preset will balloon the resolution of a DVD and you won't see much improvement over the universal setting, its a waste of space as far as I'm concerned.
     

Share This Page