iPad Pro What hapenned to the split keyboard?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by blue2noise, Nov 15, 2015.

  1. blue2noise macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #1
    Loving the iPad pro, but I don't see the option to split the keyboard in half when holding it in portrait so you can thumb type. Am I missing a setting somewhere?
     
  2. Zorn macrumors 6502a

    Zorn

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
  3. MadMacV macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    #3
    It's in the 9.2 public beta. I am using it to type this
     
  4. Zorn macrumors 6502a

    Zorn

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    Can undock it but I don't see the option to split
     
  5. MadMacV macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    #5

    Yes it called split. I am doing it now. Public beta 3.
     
  6. Zorn macrumors 6502a

    Zorn

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    That's what I'm running. Where is the option?
     
  7. MadMacV macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    #7
    Lower right keyboard hold down on the keyboard Sybil and choose split. Also I am in zoom mode. In setting display. I using zoom mode
     
  8. MadMacV macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    #8
     
  9. markyr17 macrumors 65816

    markyr17

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
  10. Sissyboy macrumors regular

    Sissyboy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #10
     
  11. sassenach74 macrumors 65816

    sassenach74

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    #11
    I'm running Beta 3 and don't see the option for split keyboard
     
  12. No-Me macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Rotterdam
    #12
    Pfew, very happy that it's going to be back in 9.2 :) I missed this the last couple of days.
     
  13. thisisnotmyname macrumors 65816

    thisisnotmyname

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Location:
    known but velocity indeterminate
    #13
    good it's coming back, if anything needed a split option it's this thing :)
     
  14. AceFernalld macrumors 65816

    AceFernalld

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #14
    Uhhhhh I don't know what any of you are talking about but I am running the latest public beta and the split keyboard is absolutely nowhere to be found.
     
  15. Zorn macrumors 6502a

    Zorn

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #15
    I thought I was going crazy, because so am I and this option isn't there. There's also no way to "slide it apart", it just moves up and down, that's it. One guy mentioned using Zoom view, so maybe it's still in there under that resolution setting? I already feel the icons are laughably huge and spaced apart as it is using Standard, so I have zero interest in making things look even more obnoxious.
     
  16. AceFernalld macrumors 65816

    AceFernalld

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #16
    I was getting ready to call him a liar but it turns out he's right. If you turn Display Zoom on it essentially takes the interface of the Air 2 and blows it up to the Pro's resolution. This means that it has the Air 2's keyboard as well, which still allows for splitting. A real shame that it isn't on the Pro's standard keyboard (yet).
     
  17. No-Me macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Rotterdam
    #17
    Argh! That sucks, I understand that it's not in landscape, but in portrait mode it would really help the typing.
     
  18. Qbnkelt macrumors 65816

    Qbnkelt

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic
    #18
    Glad to have found this thread.
    I was just about to post a "Go home Apple, you're drunk" rant.
    Just played with it and walked away without it. I'll be returning to the store Saturday.
     
  19. Sissyboy macrumors regular

    Sissyboy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #19
    Split is the bomb especially for this big thing.
     
  20. Zorn macrumors 6502a

    Zorn

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #20
    Other than it being present in the Zoom mode (which as mentioned, still uses the old keyboard) there's no indication that Apple plans to add this back to the regular iPad Pro keyboard.
     
  21. Ed Gleeson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    #21
    Hi
    I am in zoom mode on my iPad pro using English Australian keyboard & have iPad Air keyboard showing however still don't see how to split keyboard. Suggestions please ? Thanks
     
  22. AceFernalld macrumors 65816

    AceFernalld

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #22
    If you tap and hold the button in the bottom right hand corner of the keyboard it should give you the option of either undocking or splitting.
     
  23. Ed Gleeson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    #23
    Thanks. I have tried this with no success. I am in Australia & running IOS 9.1 which is showing as latest software.
    I see some mentioning they are running IOS 9.2. Maybe this is the problem.
     
  24. AceFernalld macrumors 65816

    AceFernalld

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #24
    I was running 9.2 when I simulated it on my device, so that may be the issue. The public beta of 9.2 is very stable, if you are considering installing it.
     

Share This Page