What happened to dynamic graphics switching in ML???

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macagain, Sep 5, 2012.

  1. macagain macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    #1
    I could have sworn this option was not there in Lion (i.e. there was dynamic graphics switching)... or am I smoking something?

    This is an early 2011 mbp 15...

    Anyone else see this?
     
  2. lermal macrumors regular

    lermal

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #2
    Go to: :apple: -> System Preferences -> Energy Saver and "Automatic graphics switching" is at the top.
     
  3. StuLax18 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #3
    I don't see it, but gfxcardstatus does allow it as one of the options, along with integrated/dedicated only.
     
  4. Rocky244 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #4
    Yea, I just noticed mine is missing too.

    It is replaced by the old "better battery life" and "higher performance" options.

    I don't get it... It would almost makes sense if better battery life was dynamic switching and higher performance meant always discrete... but I noticed even on higher performance I'm still sometimes using integrated. That means that there is no way to force the dedicated card at all times (without gfxcard of course).
     
  5. Ole'schooliBook macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #5
    That's strange...I have the same machine, with gfxcardstatus installed and it still shows the "automatic graphics switching" checkbox at the top of the "energy saver" tab of System Preferences.

    Weird.
     
  6. Rocky244 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #6
    I just noticed where the difference is, and I'm still very confused.

    Turns out when the computer is plugged in, you have two options:
    - Better Battery Life
    - Higher Performance

    When the computer is unplugged it shows:
    - Automatic switching...

    Which is fine, I just don't understand why the option for "Better Battery Life" exists when you are plugged into the wall... Furthermore I don't understand the difference between the two separate settings menus, or why the menu changes depending on power status...
     

Share This Page