What happened to the map route on the Nike+ App?

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by Long Run Nick, Nov 19, 2016.

  1. Long Run Nick macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Location:
    Florida Panhandle
    #1
    6 weeks running with the AW2, run map showed after every run and transferred via Run Gap to my Garmin Connect account. Couldn't help myself, got a 42mm Nike+ watch last Thurs. Have run 2 runs- an 8 miler and a 7.3- no map showing on the Nike app or Run Gap app. Main reason I like the map it gives me the temperature. My Garmin shows map when I run with it and have the Tempe pod attached to my shoe. Appreciate others experiences. Nick
     
  2. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #2
    I've had the map not show up once or twice.

    Did you try restarting the watch and the iPhone?

    Also, try the workout app and see if that gets you a map.
     
  3. Long Run Nick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Location:
    Florida Panhandle
    #3
    Tried restarting the phone and watch. No map. Workout app no map. Any other work around? Thanks.
     
  4. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #4
    The only other thing I can think of to try is to unpair and repair the watch.

    Were you ever able to get a map with the Nike Watch? If not, it may be a hardware defect.
     
  5. Long Run Nick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Location:
    Florida Panhandle
    #5
    Thank you my friend. It worked today. For some not so smart thinking on my part, I thought it may recover the runs I did that didn't show the maps. Did a 15 miler this AM and all worked great. Thanks again. Nick
     
  6. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #6
    Yeah, something was confused. I've had no issues with maps showing up from NRC on my Nike+ watch.
     
  7. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #7
    ... and I spoke too soon. Today's run had the GPS data on the watch (saw the track after finishing) but it lost the track when syncing over to the phone.

    Sigh.
     
  8. Long Run Nick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Location:
    Florida Panhandle
    #8
    I am on a hot streak. 15 miler Sunday, it worked. 6 miler today it worked! Map shows on Run Gap and then on Garmin.
     
  9. bbbb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #9
    Has anyone figured out how to get the AW2 to re-sync a route back to Nike Run Club? When I finished my run on Apple Watch 2 Nike Run Club App, I saw the map of the route on the watch face. When I load NRC on iPhone or website, it only shows my distance and heart rate, no GPS information. I've tried re-installing and resetting all the permissions and no go.

    My first 2 runs worked perfectly, the routes and maps sync'd to NRC but the last 4-5 runs only show distance and heart rate. I'm pretty sure the GPS data is still intact on AW2 somewhere...

    Also is there a way to view your heart rate on AW2 Nike Run Club app while running? All I see is a timer and distance.
     
  10. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #10
    I've not figured out a way to resync, and when I asked Nike+ about it on facebook they merely sent me instructions on how to delete and re-load the apps. i.e. they answered a different question than the one I asked.

    Today I've had my second run where I saw the GPS track on the watch at the end of the run but when it synced to my phone the NRC app on the phone showed no GPS data. In between the two I had runs show up just fine.

    I'm probably going to do a full delete/reinstall of the apps before my next run.

    At this point though I'm not able to trust NRC as a sole running app and will continue to wear my FR235 on my other wrist. I hope they fix the software in time, or perhaps Strava will have an app update that works well.

    Heartrate shows in smaller text at the upper left corner of the screen during a run for me. I use Advanced mode, so perhaps it doesn't show if you stay in basic mode.
     
  11. Bob190 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    #11
    Be sure that you hit the DONE button on the watch that takes you back to the start screen once you finish the run and review the run (maps and stats). On Saturday, I forgot to hit the DONE button when I finished the run, and when it synced, I didn't get the GPS data. I am not a 100% sure it is related, but on the other 20 or so runs I completed with the NRC app, I didn't have the issue, and Saturday was the first time I forgot to hit the DONE button prior to the run syncing to the NRC app on my iPhone.

    Did a run today at Lunch, as usual, I hit the DONE button, once I finished the run and everything synced fine.
     
  12. deeddawg, Nov 28, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2016

    deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #12
    Thanks for the suggestion.

    I do ensure I hit the done button every time. The watch processes it for a moment and then lands me on the opening NRC "Start" green circle page displaying the just-completed run's distance after the "Last Run:" tag. It's just that a couple of times now it hasn't actually transferred the GPS track to the phone app


    I've contacted Nike about the matter. If I hear something constructive in return I will pass it along.
     
  13. Eljoe19 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    #13
    I am experiencing the same map problem. I have just made my first outdoor run with watch + phone. I started my run with the AW2. After finishing all the data was correctly sync except for the map info which was missing. GPS was working since the phone had the blue bar on top stating NRC app was using my location (since i was carrying the phone it was ok to be using the phones's gps).
     
  14. Long Run Nick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Location:
    Florida Panhandle
    #14
    I talked to Nike, no help, they at least acknowledge the problem. My friend Kristian, support guy for RunGap app advised that he has heard from other Nike app users the same issue. He mentioned he thinks Nike will straighten it out in the next couple of days.
    Deedawg, I think it was your suggestion that led me to RunGap. I realize it doesn't provide all the info that Garmin Connect does but at least my miles run gets to Garmin. I sometimes shake my head at myself worrying about miles getting flipped to Garmin. Geez, I keep track manually with all the data that is important to. Guess what? I rarely go back and review the stuff.
    I think someone posted that the HR only shows on the Nike app in the Advanced Mode. True. Nick
     
  15. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #15
    Yep. It is nice to go back to check prior times easily on say a race you've done several years.

    The one thing I'd suggest is looking into Tapiriik to automatically copy all your Garmin data out to DropBox via TCX files. That gives you a backup in case Garmin should one day clamp down on data export capabilities, allowing you to load the TCX files into whatever alternate site you choose to use.
     
  16. Long Run Nick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Location:
    Florida Panhandle
    #16
    My fall back is 40 years of calendars and my multi page spread sheet that lists my races chronologically from my mid- November 1976 Vulcan run in Birmingham, AL to my recent 10K Turkey Trot on Thansgiving Day in Tallahassee,FL.- current total 526 races!
     
  17. Long Run Nick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Location:
    Florida Panhandle
    #17
    A little update. Still no map when I use the Nike app. When I went to my RunGap app there was a message that basically stated due to technical issues with the Nike app and Korean servers?, RunGap may not continue to process stuff from the Nike + app.
    I have been very impressed with the tech support from RunGap- Kristian- has responded in a timely manner when I had issues figuring out how to use their app., as well as issues with the Nike app that other users have brought to his attention.
    Come on Nike, I know you can do better.
     
  18. ftaok macrumors 603

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #18
    Nick - are you running without your iPhone? For me, maps have always worked, but I've not run without my iPhone.
     
  19. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #19
    Nick - the RunGap notification mentioned North Korea as a metaphor for Nike's closed ecosystem and not in reference to any servers. The point was that RunGap uses unofficial means to extract data from Nike+ and RunGap can't guarantee continued support; it will still work for as long as it works, at whatever point that Nike makes a change to break things, we're likely done.

    My hope is that it will continue to work until Strava provides a standalone app that works well. Until then I will keep on with my FR235.

    You might also look at http://www.nikeplusexodus.com/
    --- Post Merged, Nov 30, 2016 ---
    I'm not Nick, but I rarely ever run with my phone.

    I usually get the GPS data but on two occasions I've seen the map in the NRC app on my watch, hit the Done button to wrap things up, and later had the GPS map data go away when synced to Nike+.
     
  20. bbbb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #20
    Yesterday my run on Nike AW2 sync'd everything (including gps map) to Nike Run Club. The ONLY thing I changed was not opening my Nike Run Club app on iPhone right away. I waited a couple hours until checking and all showed up.

    I suspect that by opening up the the NRC app too early on iPhone messes up the GPS sync, that's my guess.

    In any case, Nike if you're listening please fix the GPS sync issue. I believe the GPS data is still available (click on Health app -> NRC -> Data) and it would be nice to force a re-sync.

    Also thanks for heads-up for heart beat showing on NRC watch app, I turned on advanced mode and it does show in left hand corner. I wish there were different faces for the NRC watch app... the Tomtom Nike watch allowed you to move around the heart rate and distance... comon Nike let's add some more features already.
     
  21. Bob190 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    #21

    I never run with my phone, and have been using the Series 2 since released. Been using the NRC app since the version that supported the Series 2 GPS was released. I have done probably 25 runs and never had an issue with the GPS data syncing from Nike to RunGap.

    A couple of things to check .. be sure that you are not importing from Apple Health into RunGap. If you pull from Health first, you will get that data instead of the Nike data that includes the GPS info. That comes from the Nike server and not your phone.

    Also, you need to make sure you don't see "Sync Pending" on the NRC phone app prior to pulling data into RunGap. When you see "Sync Pending" that means all of the data hasn't made it to Nike's server yet.

    As Kristian mentioned in his post, pulling data from Nike's closed system is a hack. Nike doesn't support 3rd parties pulling data from its system, so when Nike closes any exploit that 3rd party apps are using, apps like RunGap have to find other ways of getting the data. Sounds like he is fed up with Nike, so he is going to stopping patching things when they close the loopholes. Sad, but I understand. Unfortunately, I think it is going to cost him some revenue as RunGap seems to be widely used by those using NRC.

    Can't wait for Strava to officially release its Series 2 app, then it is all moot at least for me.
     
  22. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #22
    That is not the issue I'm having.

    Twice now the NRC phone app *lost* the GPS data when syncing it from the watch. Successful run with NRC in the watch; I start NRC and pause NRC before a couple stretches so it has a solid couple of minutes to acquire GPS. After the run I stop it and see the map on the screen, correctly representing the route I've just run. I hit the Done button and see the green-circle start screen with my Last Run: correctly listed.

    So the data is there at that time. I've run with GPS watches for years, so I'm pretty familiar with ensuring a lock and so forth.

    A while later (shower, work stuff) I pull up the NRC app on my phone and let it sync the run over.

    Usually it works just fine.

    On the two occasions though, NRC phone app (and Nike website) showed the spikey-wheel graphic indicating no GPS data (same graphic as for indoor runs).

    This is *all* with the Nike software and long before RunGap gets involved.

    I've contacted Nike Support about it directly. If I should hear anything worth relaying I will do so.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 30, 2016 ---
    .. and yes, if RunGap ceases to provide value to me (no more Nike+ sync) I won't continue with them. I already support Tapiriik to handle my Garmin > Strava & Garmin > Dropbox transfers.
     
  23. Long Run Nick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Location:
    Florida Panhandle
    #23
    I never run with my phone. One of the reasons I run is to "just be":) Nick
    --- Post Merged, Nov 30, 2016 ---
    Deeddawg, you score again. I couldn't figure out how N Korea got in the game:)
    I do like the Nike app for the announcement every mile of my average pace for the whole run. The workout app isn"t that bad, may just run with that. I am sure Garmin won't miss me. Will continue to use my Garmin235 from time to time. I am ramping up training for an early February marathon in Tallahassee. Going to go back to my ultra running style and train by running and walking. The 235 provides that option, as you,probably know. Again thanks for your insights they have been a big help to me. Nick
     

Share This Page