What happens when I find a Cloud hotspot?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by skeen, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. skeen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    Do I have to enter a username and password...or...? Haven't come across one yet!
     
  2. sneeks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/3B48a Safari/419.3)

    You'll be requested to enter your mobile number so they can verify your account. This will only happen the first time you access the network.
     
  3. dammitjanet@gma macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #3
    and then you'll wish you had edge connectivity, or even GPRS because every cloud nework I have found with one exception (Edinburgh rail station) has been slow as turtle poop.
     
  4. page3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Vicar of Dibley-land, UK
    #4
    I used my first Cloud hotspot the other day (Costa coffee). It didn't ask for anything, just connected automatically :)
     
  5. CD3660 macrumors 68040

    CD3660

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom.
    #5
    I did the same thing with BT Openzone yesterday. No password, just connected. I thought BT Openzone was an expensive subscription only service. I'm a bit baffled.

    Anyone have the lowdown on this?
     
  6. sneeks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #6
    I tried a BT Openzone connection during the first week of owning my iPhone and was automatically directed to a login screen :(
     
  7. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #7
    So far no luck for me with The Cloud.

    However their support team have been very good and are trying to get me connected. But whenever I use my iPhone in a TheCloud hotspot I am unable to connect…

    Fingers crossed it gets sorted soon. :)
     
  8. thworple macrumors 6502

    thworple

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Location:
    Sussex, England
    #8
    Same here - certainly didn't allow me just to connect.
     
  9. lordgaino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #9
    thank god someone else thinks the cloud hotspots are a joke, i connected to one last week and thought it was my iphone because the edge i was using 5 minutes before was faster!!
     
  10. CD3660 macrumors 68040

    CD3660

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom.
    #10
    I did try getting on to a BT Openzone a couple of days after getting the iPhone when I was just playing around. Perhaps I went through a login screen then, whilst in the throes of an infatuated daze over my new acquisition.

    Maybe I unwittingly sold myself to the devil and I will get an enormous bill in due course! :eek:

    However, I'm absolutely sure that I didn't provide any billing details.

    Does anyone know how it works? Could it, for example, be tacked on to my O2 bill?
     
  11. nomad01 macrumors 68000

    nomad01

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    #11
    My phone seems to like connecting to BT OpenZones but I can't use em.

    Connected to my first Cloud today... while in Starbucks... very weak signal so must have been from a nearby access point. Despite the weak signal, web pages were really fast to load. Was amazed! Maybe just a fluke!?
     
  12. Leemo macrumors 6502

    Leemo

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #12
    The Cloud in the Bullring seems to be really fast in my experience - as does the Cloud in the new shopping centre in Derby.
     
  13. shellbryson macrumors 6502

    shellbryson

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #13
    Actually The Cloud network in Edinburgh (when you can actually find one) are damn fast. You can get Cloud access on most of George Street, I discovered last night.
     
  14. shellbryson macrumors 6502

    shellbryson

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #14
    Nah nothing to worry about. You cant get billed for using an open WIFI connection -- unless prompted to enter your credit card :) It's a connect is open, and you can get data over it, you're fine. O2 don't give a damn.
     
  15. CD3660 macrumors 68040

    CD3660

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom.
    #15
    Phew! :)
     
  16. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #16
    from my experience when you find a cloud hotspot nothing happens as they never authenticate my Phone number. Which sucks.
     
  17. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #17
    That was the exact problem I had. When near a Cloud hotspot no page appeared when I used Safari so I couldn't "register" my iPhone.

    I contacted Cloud's support. Sent them my number and MAC… seems to have been solved as of yesterday afternoon I am able to connect. :D Very pleased.
     
  18. page3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Vicar of Dibley-land, UK
    #18
    Interestingly enough (well, I think so anyway) I was using my iPhone with the same Cloud hotspot as I mentioned before, except this time I got the 'we need your telephone number just once' screen on Safari. On entering it, all worked great. Strange that I could browse last time without doing this.
     
  19. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #19
    I get to the phone number screen but it never goes past that. I guess I'll email them too.
     
  20. dammitjanet@gma macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #20
    I was in Leeds today, The Cloud connection near Zavvi (Virgin Megastore or whtever its called these days) was very good and very quick.

    I also had edge mostly to the south of Headway, but further north it was very patchy up past Borders.
     

Share This Page