what hard drives are coming with your mac pros?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Bass108, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. ErikAndre macrumors 6502a

    ErikAndre

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    I'm just getting the standard 320G drive and will upgrade later.
     
  2. GodWhomIsMike macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #3
    Probably the standard 320GB, and then swap it for (2) 150GB raptor drives, and use the 320GB as a storage drive in the 3rd HD slot.
     
  3. Bass108 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #4
    my question is not geared toward size! i want to know what type of drives you are getting brand and model number. much appreciated
     
  4. Just sayin... macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #5
    1 1TB drive. Will order the other three from 3rd party suppliers.

    Here's a link to the one I'm probably going to get.

    1.0TB(1024GB) Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 SATA II 7200RPM 32MB W/ Perpendicular Drive Technology New w/5 Year Seagate Warranty! (SEAST31000340AS)
     
  5. GodWhomIsMike macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #6
  6. timestamp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #7
    I think the OP wants to know what models Apple is sending the new Mac Pros?
     
  7. Bass108 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #8
    OP?

    I am considering a WD SE16...was looking at the RE2 as well but I have been hearing people have problems with them when they are in a non-raid config. but i read somewhere that apple has shipped these hard drives before. i want an app drive that has a 16MB cache and and I don't really need 500GB...as i keep my program drive minimal. According to apple though their 320GB drives have an 8MB cache...so probably not the SE16 then.
     
  8. GodWhomIsMike macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #9
    OP = Original poster


    That's cheesy, as most drives in that size come with 16MB cache. I'll make sure that is the last drive in my JBOD set up.
     
  9. Bass108 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #10
    i know! check the specs on their page its there...8MB for 320GB.
     
  10. Bass108 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #11
    surely someone here that has a mac pro can give insight as to what hard drives these mac pros are shipping with
     
  11. Mike Teezie macrumors 68020

    Mike Teezie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    #12
    I can't help you there, my MP won't be here until Monday.

    I got two of these for my photo storage:

    WD 750 Gig Disks

    I also got two 500 gig models for OS X and Photoshop scratch disk.

    The stock 320 is going on Ebay.
     
  12. dblester macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #13
    how much faster would the raptor be compared to the 7200 rpm drives? or does it equal out since one is sata 1.5gb and the other sata 3.0gb?
     
  13. Bass108 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #14
    raptor will be faster...and louder...the SATA 150 isn't as a big of a deal which is my understanding.

    if you can handle the noise and lower capacity go for it
     
  14. jnc macrumors 68020

    jnc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Nunya, Business TX
    #15
    I already have 2 x 500GB MyBook Pro so I am going to hook them up with fw800. Just getting the standard HD so will have 1.32TB total :)
     
  15. Jonny427 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #16
    I decided to get the 500gb one for the extra 8mb buffer. I plan on adding a second 500gb and going RAID 0 in the future (and possibly RAID 0+1 in the distant distant future).

    I dont want to bother swapping out the 320 and transfer everything over, so the 90 bucks was worth it.
     
  16. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #17
    I don't think Apple consistently ship one brand of drive or another. They simply buy whatevers cheapest at the time.
     
  17. GoKyu macrumors 65816

    GoKyu

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #18
    I'm getting the default 320 gig drive that comes with the system - I got a great deal on 2 320 gig WD drives (about $130 for both) a month or so ago, and my final drive will be 1 TB, specifically for my Time Machine backup.

    -Bryan

    (waiting very impatiently....)
     
  18. oceanzen macrumors regular

    oceanzen

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #19
    How do you know for certain the standard 320GB drive has only 8MB cache?

    I can't see the info on cache size anywhere on Apple's site.

    Thanks
     
  19. Bass108 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
  20. oceanzen macrumors regular

    oceanzen

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #21
  21. MrPDaddyHimself macrumors regular

    MrPDaddyHimself

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #22
    4 1-TB drives. I know, I could have gotten them cheaper online but I prefer to be safer than sorrier on warranty type issues. Especially something that runs my life. Plus, when you're dead, you can't spend the money!
     
  22. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #23
    You can get HD's with 5 year warranties, will surpass AppleCare!
     
  23. johny5 macrumors 6502a

    johny5

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    When I plan on getting a Pro I was hoping I can just put in third party Sata drives, can I?
    Are there any driving housings I need to use (from the pics i have seen it looks like theyre on some kind of tray?) or do they just screw in?
     
  24. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #25
    Yes, you can use third party hd's. The mac pro comes with what you need, you pretty much just pop it in I hear.
     

Share This Page