What HD are you using for Time Machine?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by HiFiGuy528, Aug 2, 2008.

  1. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #1
    I ordered this today after reading GREAT reviews.
    LaCie Rugged Hard Disk
    FireWire 800, FireWire 400 & Hi-Speed USB 2.0
    320GB
    [​IMG]

    Show us what you're using.
     
  2. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  3. iamvexed macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
  4. benmrii macrumors 65816

    benmrii

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    NC
  5. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
  6. minik macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
  7. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #7
    WD MyBook 1 terabyte. I have it (and 2 500GB MyBooks) hooked up to AEBS. Works swimmingly with my MBP, but not with a G5 iMac for some reason. Have to use USB-attached drive for iMac.
     
  8. drfp25 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #8
    lacie 500 gb Porsche USB 2.0

    I love this drive, and as a plus it's design and color match my iMac
     
  9. Mac In School macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #9
    Seagate FreeAgent USB.

    They got me with the 5-year warranty.
     
  10. aross99 macrumors 68000

    aross99

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI
    #10
    NewerTech ministack 160GB connected to my Airport Extreme N router.
     
  11. signatus macrumors member

    signatus

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Andalucía, Spain
    #11
    Hi there!
    Apparently it seems that all of you are NOT using Time Capsule for Time Machine. Is there a reason for not using Time Capsule?
    I need to buy a HD to backup my MBP (and if possible store other stuff too) and I'm in doubt whether to buy a Time Capsule or another HD.
    What about IOmega's Ultramax 1 TB HD with Firewire + USB connections?
    More info on http://store.apple.com/es/product/T...mac_accessories/storage&mco=MjQ3ODgw#overview
     
  12. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #12
    WD MyBook USB/FW via Airport Extreme USB (Airdisk).
     
  13. Jshwon macrumors 6502

    Jshwon

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #13
    Funny you mention this because I was in the same boat like a week ago. Wanted to get the time capsule to keep the Apple theme going and for when I get a laptop. But I couldn't justify the cost when I already have a wireless router and a HD with more or equal capacity would cost less. I decided to get the IOmega Ultramax 750GB HD. It hooked right up fine and I partitioned it with Disk Utility easy as pie. The drive has been fine so far but it is actually louder than my iMac (iMac is damn near silent). I going to find a longer fw800 cable to set it away from the desk so I won't hear it as much.

    I figured I'd get the HD now and IF I choose to get the TC later I'll just have extra storage for my laptop that I'll get down the road.
     
  14. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #14
    I'm using a Western Digital Mybook 500Gb "Essential Edition".

    It works well enough, I also have it partitioned though and use the other partition for films.
     
  15. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
  16. sammy2066 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
  17. MacGeek7 macrumors 6502a

    MacGeek7

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
  18. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #18
    I had a Time Capsule when they first came out and had issues with it locking up and/or restarting by itself. I took it back and got an AEBS some months later. Now I use the AEBS with an external drive, which gives basically the same effect as a Time Capsule but runs cooler and bandwith is slightly less. It has worked pretty well for me running Time Machine from 2 Macs (the backups stall occasionally but I cancel and it recovers fine), but I use an external WD MyBook USB at work hooked directly to my iMac and it works flawlessly (and silently too I might add). Altogether I now have 3 of the WD MyBook drives and couldn't be more pleased.
     
  19. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #19
    Speed is the biggest problem with Time Capsule for large hard drives - even over 802.11n speeds are pretty low. I use a WD MyBook Studio 1TB over firewire 800 to backup my iMac, a variety of USB drives for my MacPro and a WD 2.5" USB drive plugged into my AEBS for my MBA (not using Time Capsule for that because I already had the AEBS)
     
  20. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #20
    I agree that it is much slower over wireless than direct connect, but it is so convenient that it is worth it to me (at home - I use direct connect at work).
     
  21. Jshwon macrumors 6502

    Jshwon

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #21
    I was thinking of buying a WD MyBook Studio but heard mixed reviews. I guess that is the case with any drive really. But noise is a big thing with me. I can't even tell my iMac is on at times and this IOmega is just too loud. I think I'm gonna exchange it for the WD.
     
  22. MagnumJoe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
  23. koobcamuk macrumors 68040

    koobcamuk

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #23
    I'm deciding whether to get another hard drive. I have a Mac Mini which I want to use as my media hub, so I guess I won't need time machine on that. I used to love and use Super Duper! all the time... but now I have a MBP as my main computer, I am thinking I should get with the program and have time machine... FW800 would be a good idea I am thinking...
     
  24. CarlsonCustoms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #24
    I just use a WD 500 IDE drive in a macally FW400 external case, has worked well so far, I will upgrade to a TB drive sometime when they reach below $120.
     
  25. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #25
    Time Machine and SuperDuper! are for different purposes; don't just go with TM and ditch SD, you can use both (I do, as well as many others).
     

Share This Page