What if it fails?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Epikuros, Oct 25, 2012.

1. Epikuros macrumors member

Hi,

I am a student living in a small dorm room with nothing but this awful, $200 laptop that, while less than six months old, seems to be on its last legs, and won't do simple word processing or surfing without strenuous protest.

I've just rearranged my room and found I have space on my desk for a monitor and keyboard, I could just about fit in an 'all-in-one' machine, I reckon.

I'll be able to scrape together enough for the cheapest of these new iMacs, but one thing bothers me slightly about the new design: what to do if there is hardware failure? I'm guessing they'll fix any problem during the first year under guarantee, but what if something happens during the second year, can I turn it in somewhere?

I'm guessing my laptop is acting up partly because something might have happened to it's hard drive (sometimes it loads Windows and nothing else, requiring a hard boot). Hard drives often go bad, but with the iMac, it doesn't really look like you could just buy a normal hard drive and jam it in there.

It would be really a shame if I had to throw away an entire machine because the disc failed after 18 months.

Anyone in the know about how this works? Thanks.

2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

flopticalcube

Scrape together enough for AppleCare ($200) by the end of the first year and you can purchase two more years of protection.

3. Josh220 macrumors regular

Apple care, and keep frequent backups. Should keep you covered and stress free.

4. Rizzm macrumors 6502a

Interesting that people are so quick to point out that AppleCare is practically a necessity. It's too bad that people are so compliant with Apple's unserviceable approach.

For shame.

5. Josh220 macrumors regular