What if...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by VAGDesign, Feb 23, 2017.

  1. VAGDesign macrumors 6502

    VAGDesign

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Location:
    Greece
    #1
    ... Apple will unveil a new Mac Pro with AMD CPUs next month along with Ryzen new CPUs release?
    Can you imagine that?

    I got a "hit" on that just now and I thought to post this "imaginable" question here for a discussion...
    So, what you guys think?

    PS: Ryzen goes retail on March 2nd.
     
  2. blackdbird macrumors newbie

    blackdbird

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    #2
    well mac pro line up is nearly dead and i dont think that there will be a new mac pro ever ... they became a greddy piece of S**T , the true innovation died with steeve jobs , few years back a company properly flashed apple bios to intel motherboards & sell them on dirt cheap prices and it was 100% working with everything .. all in all its not gonna happen
    --- Post Merged, Feb 23, 2017 ---
    http://www.insanelymac.com/_/osx86/psystar-counter-sues-apple-for-anti-competitive-r174

    http://www.macworld.com/article/1132984/psystar.html
     
  3. max001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    #3
    Yeah i dont care what they come up with anymore but they are phone company i am just waiting or my mac pro 2009 to die so i can buy PC dual core Intel xeon machine where i wont have problems fitting 3 gpus or upgrading for half the price what it cost or mac. I mean 4k or new mac pro i can build one kick ass pc machine or that cash with money let or coffee
     
  4. AUser2017 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    #4
    Nope no Mac Pro with Ryzen Consumer Chips... If Apple decides to make a new MPro, they will use Xeons E5v4, DDR4, Thunderbolt 3, Usb31gen2...

    But there is a possibillity, that Apple go with AMD and their Naples Server Chips...but I don´t believe that....
     
  5. Pakaku macrumors 68000

    Pakaku

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #5
    AMD always seemed like the choice you'd consider if you're building a personal desktop on a budget. Even then, I personally wouldn't touch them.
     
  6. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #6
    I spent a hundred thousand dollars or so getting a bunch of Opteron servers. I didn't have a clear need for them, but wanted to have some around in case there was interest and things started to move in AMD's direction.

    They got very little use so after a couple of years I eWasted them to make room for Xeon servers.
     
  7. sublunar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #7
    They'll struggle to get Thunderbolt 3 into any AMD Ryzen platform as it's an Intel technology that Apple happen to be the biggest backers of. Ryzen's extra cores would be very interesting but surely Intel will respond with some sort of deal and Apple will be right there to take advantage. Skylake-X, for example, arrives after the summer and AMDs Vega GPUs by the end of the year.
     
  8. koyoot macrumors 601

    koyoot

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #8
    There is NOTHING blocking AMD from using Alpine Ridge controller. Its up to motherboard manufacturers to pay to Intel 6 to 8$ for Alpine Ridge controllers and putting them into the Motherboards.

    The cost of this addition makes that AM4 boards would be 20-25$ more expensive then they are right now.
     
  9. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #9
    In other words, are you suggesting that people building a tower with PCIe slots and internal storage might not want to pay an additional $20 for the option of covering their desks with cables, power bricks and noisy external expansion boxes?

    ;)
     
  10. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #10
    or you could just get mac pro 6,1 and be happy that it's the last mac pro that will ever exist from apple.
     
  11. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #11
    I thought that the MP5,1 was the last Mac Pro from Apple.
     
  12. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #12
    I stand corrected
     
  13. VAGDesign thread starter macrumors 6502

    VAGDesign

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Location:
    Greece
    #13
    Personally I use my 2,1 and works fine for my needs (on MacOS X platform) along with my MBP. Last year I switched from Intel to AMD for my PC build, a custom build I made and I am very happy with the midrange 8320 CPU over clocked to 4Ghz from day one.

    AMD user for first time a year ago and I think the cost/performance is just right for what I do. Intel does great job too but most of the times its overpriced on every range.

    Apple is stuck since 2011, we have to move on if the company cannot. Since Apple cares about its budget and year over year profit and nothing more, we have to do the same for our part.

    Anyway, thanks for your thoughts guys, we're on the same boat and I hope we will sail somewhere safe soon ;-)

    Cheers.
     

Share This Page