What iMac & Logic help :)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ManuelGnR, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. ManuelGnR macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #1
    Hey guys,

    It's been a while since I posted here. Still haven't bought an iMac, still want to buy one. Probably gonna be just after new year, because of interest on my bank account. ;) By then I guess and very hope the iMacs have finally got the damn updates they deserve. :)

    Will be a beautiful cold, dark winter of looking forward to buying a brand new iMac, just like last year (waited for MacWorld - never bought an iMac).

    Currently thinking about:
    24'' iMac 2,66 Ghz
    With just all the basic stuff, but with wireless mouse.


    But I got a few questions.

    1 - Can that iMac run Logic smoothly? Or what will? I wanna go make music with it, record some guitar & bass stuff etc. By then I probably got money for any of the models, but would like to save some.

    2 - And how does recording voice go? Has it something build-in, how is that quality?

    3 - How can I create drums/beat? Can I do it easily in Logic, or with an other program?

    4 - How hard is Logic to learn? Only got a little bit of experience with Garageband when I still had Leopard running on this one..

    5 - Will I be able to play GTA IV on it? :) What parts of the iMac should be better for GTA IV / Logic? (CPU/Card/whatever)

    Ofcourse we don't know what the update (if it comes) will bring, but maybe you guys can help if you know specific parts would be needed better, maybe it's included in a new model by then..

    I hope I made myself pretty clear, hard to explain what I meant in English, I'm sorry.. :(

    Some useless information:
    17
    Netherlands
    Male
    :)

    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #2
    It seems likely that new iMac's are coming this month, so I can't recommend one for you, but I can tell you that any iMac will run Logic completely fine.

    If you plan to play video games, opt for the best video card possible (currently the ATI 4850).

    If you have used Garageband, then it will a fairly easy transition to Logic in terms of the basic functions. Learning the more advanced parts of the program though will take time.

    At least 4 gigs of RAM is necessary, but opting for 8 is just not worth the money right now.
     
  3. lamo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #3
    i'm using logic pro on my imac mb323/rsa. everything runs good. apps, i'm usig with it: Reaktor,Reason,NI Massive,Absynth. you can upgrade CPU in imac to 2.8 ot even 3.06ghz(early 2008, early 2009 imacs).
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    I would get the best you can afford. Logic runs smoothly with good CPU and lots of RAM but with games you also need a good GPU
     
  5. arjen92 macrumors 65816

    arjen92

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Below sea level
    #5
    If you want more discount you can try to get student discount. You're in the age of a student. (except when your doing VWO and not yet doing University).

    (I advice most people of your age not to buy a desktop pc cause it's not mobile. You want a mobile computer AKA laptop when you go to university or school and you'll have to go from one city to another).

    p.s. check www.slim.nl for huge discounts when you're still on high school.
     
  6. richprice79 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    St Augustine
    #6
    My bands recording studio has a 2.4ghz imac with logic 8 in it and it does the job just fine.
     

Share This Page