Price Advice What is a maxed out 2011 MBP worth in 2016?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ChappieWilderbeast, Sep 29, 2016.

1. ChappieWilderbeast macrumors newbie

ChappieWilderbeast

I'd like to sell my early 2011 15" MBP to help fund a purchase of the upcoming model. I've checked eBay and it seems they still sell for £300-400. This was quite surprising, I'd be very happy to get £400 for it...but mine has been upgraded compared to most I see and I just wanted to check here and see if that number sounds right for this model? My guess would be the extra memory and RAM don't amount to much on the used market compared to say, battery life, but I've never done this before. Thanks for any suggestions and my apologies if this is in the wrong place!

Here are the specs/notes:
    • 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7
    • AMD Radeon HD 6750M 1024MB
    • 1680 x 1050 "HR Antiglare WS Display"
    • 500GB Samsung EVO 850 SSD
    • 1TB 7200rpm Hitachi Travelstar (OWC data doubler in Superdrive bay)
    • 2x8GB (16GB) 1600 MHz DDR3 RAM
    • New fans
    • New charger (bought literally last week)
    • Battery cycle count is 2075 (!)...so I would expect to knock down the price for that. Lasts about 2 hours on a full charge.
    • Running macOS Sierra
    • Scratches on bottom but top shell has been in hard plastic case since purchase (Aug 2011)
    • Original box

2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

Actually the SSD could raise the price a bit, but unfortunately the fact that it's a 2011 lowers it a bit because of the notorious graphics card issues on these models, the extended warranty that Apple has been offering to fix the GPU on 2011 models finishes at the end of the year too, they have become a gamble to buy.

£300 to £400 sounds fair to me, not that I would touch a 2011 with a barge pole myself but someone will buy it.

3. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

keysofanxiety