What is a 'Sparseimage'?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Oldmanmac, Apr 27, 2014.

  1. Oldmanmac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #1
    I have a 'sparseimage' on my desktop/ It says Macintosh HD.sparseimage. Is that a backup and is it necessary?
     
  2. Oldmanmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #3
    So, it's a Time Machine thingy? Any harm in deleting it w/o messing up Time Machine?
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Nope... Time Machine uses a sparse bundle format and would be named whatever your computer name is in the Sharing pane of System Preferences.

    You have something else going no there. Did you maybe try to use Disk Utility to clone your drive or something?

    Select the file and hit command-i to see the Get Info pane and tell me how large the file is?

    I'm a bit worried just telling you to delete it without understanding how it got there. This is not something the OS would just create on its own.
     
  4. Oldmanmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #5
    275GB. The computer system shows 365GB. (500GB hd - 135GB free space)
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    That does sound like a full disk clone. That did not get there by itself. Can you think of anything you may have done like trying to backup with some utility, that may have caused this.
     

Share This Page