What is Apple's reason for now allowing WPS or DLNA?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by tekno, Jun 24, 2013.

  1. tekno macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #1
    I'm trying to set-up a simple wifi repeater (a Huawei) and have discovered, after a bit of internet research, that Apple don't support Wifi Protected Set-up. If they did, set-up would take 30 seconds. Because they don't, nearly a week later I still haven't worked out how to do it.

    So why do Apple choose not to include it? As it must be a conscious decision of theirs.

    Recently I unwittingly amazed a bunch of iPhone-using friends when I made an episode of Modern Family play on a Panasonic TV from my Samsung phone. All over wifi without adjusting a single setting. Why do Apple not support DLNA?

    I'm just interested to know why they appear to limit their products.
     
  2. MiBook84 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    Malmö, Sweden
    #2
    The AirPort Extreme and AirPort Express DO support WPS. You just activate it via the AirPort Utility instead of a push-button. Which of course increases security. I never use WPS and I don't think it is necessary if you have any networking skills.

    Apple has AirPlay which is an alternative to DLNA. DLNA is good sometimes but is not very stable unfortunately.

    Apple does not disable DLNA in your network if you have DLNA-enabled units.
     
  3. tekno thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #3
    From what I've read, they disabled WPS with AirPort Utility 6.x. I have 6.1 and can't see anywhere to enable WPS (unless you could help me out a little more and point me in the right direction?).
     
  4. MiBook84 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    Malmö, Sweden
    #4
    You should read a little more then - and update your software more often ;).

    In AirPort Utility 6.2 Apple "The ability to add a WPS-capable Wi-Fi printer".

    It was supported in 5.x also but they probably did not have time for all features in 6.0.

    You just click Base station or whatever it says in english in the top menu and select Add WPS-printer. I think that will work for any WPS-enabled devices.

    I just wonder why you bought a Huawei-repeater to go with your AirPort Extreme. It is not compatible in any way so that repeating or enhancing the signal is made in a good way. You will probably end up with a slow network but at least better reception. I would have bought an AirPort Express instead that works flawlessly with the Extreme. Even better would be to have a network cable to the other unit (huawei or express) so that the signal doesnt have to travel over wifi once, and then once more.
     
  5. tekno thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #5
    I want to extend the signal so I can use my computer in the garden. The Express is £80 and is no longer that all-in-one plug thing. The Huawei is teeny-tiny and was less that £20, so I thought it was worth a punt.

    My O2 supplied Thomson wifi router used to reach to the back of the garden and to my office three floors up. My Extreme (which is in the same place as my old Thomson) won't reach to either of those and, one floor up in the bedroom, the signal is very patchy. This is another reason I didn't want to invest in more Apple kit - my experiences of their abilities isn't great.
     
  6. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    In 2001 is was discovered that WPS could be brute forced and should be disabled on all devices. As was previously mentioned, WPS is not needed if you you know anything about networking. If you don't know anything about networking you should not be trying to configure a network.
     
  7. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    I disagree. Computers are a consumer appliance... and equipment vendors should offer a "consumer experience".

    I think that Apple has done a better job than most companies... but they have only gone 10% of the distance. They can do better.

    /Jim
     
  8. JD92 macrumors 6502a

    JD92

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #8
    If we only allowed people with Comp Sci degrees to create networks we would basically have no tech industry, you know that right?
     
  9. MiBook84 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    Malmö, Sweden
    #9
    The huawei is cheaper but probably not very good compared to the express. Hard to say why your thomson was better but perhaps you have an older airport extreme? Or perhaps hardware issues. Or just another frequency. Of course the thomson might have been better in signal rate. I think the AirPort-line is very stable and they usually work very well once they are configured properly. I cant say that for most home networking units.
     
  10. tekno thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #10
    Are you serious? Because I don't know the intricacies of wireless networking I shouldn't be buying legitimate products and configuring my own home network?

    Riiiiiight.
     
  11. tsmyth2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    #11
    Thanks. That helped tremendously as I needed to activate a Phillips Fidelio SoundAvia wireless speaker with Airplay. I move it to different locations (beach house and home) and must reset it each time for the LAN.
    Sometimes I use my "network skills" using the instructions "To Connect to a Non-WPS Router," but have found that at times it is simpler just to use WPS. I use AirPort Extreme at home and was not aware that I could use the Airport Utility 6.3.1 to enable WPS to "add a printer" and that it works for the Fidelio wireless speaker. Thanks for that tip; worked perfectly the first time.
    AirPlay is the best thing since sliced bread! (as is Apple TV). :apple: :rolleyes:IMHO.
     

Share This Page