What is better...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macbook pro i5, Feb 24, 2012.

1. macbook pro i5 macrumors 65816

macbook pro i5

Do you believe word is better or pages I am purchasing one of these things and would like o have documents synced on to my iPad via iCloud.

2. eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

eagandale4114

iCloud support for word or even ios support is not sure. However icloud support for the iWork set will be available with os x mountain lion. Syncing between iOS devices is already supported. You can't sync with a Mac till mountain lion releases this summer.

3. Mojo1 macrumors 65816

Pages is a fine word processing program at a fraction of the cost of Word. If you need more Word compatibility check out OpenOffice (free) and NeoOffice ($10). If you must have complete compatibility with Word due to work/school requirements then you may have to get Word.

I've been using Macs for 17 years and I have never had to use word. It's been either AppleWorks or iWorks (Pages).

4. jekyoo macrumors 6502

I forgot how much it was but you can get a student discount microsoft word for a fraction of the retail price. I think it was about $29.

5. Agent-P macrumors 68030

Agent-P

I use iWork (which means I use Pages) on my MBP since I got it free with my Mac. Apart from a couple of times when I had to do group projects for my classes (I had to use my old Gateway laptop for these projects), I haven't had any problems using iWork for my daily usage. Unless you know you'll be doing quite a bit of collaborative work (whether for classes or work), then you should be fine. Also, as eagandale4114 mentioned earlier, if you have multiple Apple devices then you can keep your files in sync using iCloud (after the release of ML, of course).

6. macbook pro i5 thread starter macrumors 65816

macbook pro i5

I don't need word compatibility and i believe if i need it i can set pages to save as word document? sorry for n00b question this is my first mac and love it.