What is broadcast quality ?? Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by igmolinav, Jan 28, 2011.

1. igmolinav macrumors 65816

Hi,

I watched this video. I am quite new to video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vh-2oQfSPYA

What is the difference between raw (footage) and H264U ??

What is broadcast quality ??

What is a DP ??

Thank you, kind regards,

igmolinav

2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

3. platypusrex256 macrumors newbie

RAW is an unprocessed acquisition (shooting) format. From my non-technical understanding, it contains more information so you can 'retrieve' more image details in color correction / processing. More in the shadows, more in the highlights.

h264 is a distribution codec. It sucks for editing.

"Broadcast Quality" is an obsolete term. Its a vestige of the days when television mattered. From my non-technical understanding, it referred to NTSC standards and 3CCD cameras.

DP stands for Director of Photography. It doesn't necessarily refer to the guy who holds the camera because that's the camera operator. Sometimes the DP is his own camera operator. Sometimes he stands by and barks a lot. Like a dog. :D

Hope you are enjoying video!

4. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

While the term is ambiguous it is not obsolete as there are still technical specifications that must be met or the material will be rejected by the broadcaster for quality assurance reasons. In the past, more so than now, it also helped to define cameras based on the quality of image they could produce (accuracy of colors, image detail etc.,) but camera technology has progressed so rapidly that the difference today between a consumer HD camera and a professional HD camera is much smaller than the difference between consumer and professional cameras of 15 years ago.

Lethal

5. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

Hi,

Thank you : ) !!!

Kind regards,

igmolinav

6. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

Wait the mark three was announced??? :eek: