What is the best way to install a new HDD?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by LemmycautioN, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. LemmycautioN macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #1
    Okay, I'm thinking about installing a new hdd into my MBP. I've never swapped out a drive in one of my computers simply because I need more space so I've never used a proper method of installing the current volume onto the new drive - I've always used Carbon Copy Cloner or Timemachine etc. The problem with those apps is that they don't really preserve all of the data - I always have to reset my snitch preferences etc.

    So to those people who have swapped out drives for reasons other than a corrupted drive, what is the best method of moving the volume onto the new drive.

    I have a SATA USB enclosure so my plan was to put the new drive in the enclosure, connect it, and using something - hopefully better than CCC or Timemachine - transfer the volume onto the new drive, and then physically put it in.

    Does anyone know a really good way to swap drives???
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    I used CCC without problems before, but I have no Snitch installed. But if that is the only problem (can't you save the preferences and import them again?), I would go with CCC or SuperDuper.

    The rest is fairly self explanatory.

    1. new HDD in USB enclosure
    2. clone int HDD to ext HDD
    3. swap HDDs
    4. use old HDD as new drive or backup or decoration
     
  3. redwarrior macrumors 603

    redwarrior

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    in the Dawg house
    #3
    I agree with spinnerlys. I recently replaced my HDD, used CCC, and also have Snitch, and everything worked flawlessly.

    My steps:
    1. clone existing HDD
    2. install the new HDD
    3. boot from the clone
    4. format the new HDD
    5. clone old HDD to new HDD

    done :)
     
  4. steverunner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I did this recently. I don't have any clone software so did this:

    New drive in external sata enclosure
    Connected and then formatted in OSX
    Used Migration assistant to tranfer data.
    Swapped drives and booted from new drive

    Simples!
     
  5. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #5
    You can also use Disk Utility's "restore" function to copy and restore your HDD

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  6. coast1ja macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #6
    I either use SuperDuper or just time machine it! I'm not sure if SuperDuper will save all of your settings, but it should.
     
  7. tfstone macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    #7
    I never clone a harddisk.I kinda like the process of setting up a virgin computer or hdd. Helps me to get rid of all the software that I installed and never use. I just move the data from the old disk by putting into an enclosure.
     
  8. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #8
    Personally I like to...

    1. Perform a fresh install of the OS.
    2. Run Updates
    3. Install software
    4. Run updates on any disc based installers
    5. Manually transfer data including programs which hide their databases in the Library folders (e-mail, stickies, iWeb etc...)
    6. Update preferences
    7. Other miscellaneous tasks like choosing custom icons and desktop.


    As for customer computers I perform a fresh install, run migration assistant and run the updates (or start them if done on site).
     
  9. LemmycautioN thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #9
    The difference in size between the CCC clone I just made and my internal HDD is around 5 GB. 3 gigs is in the /Library's applicational support folder

    Does that sound odd to anyone?
     
  10. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #10
    There usually is some difference. CCC is going to skip temp files and the page file.
     
  11. Gabriel GR macrumors 6502a

    Gabriel GR

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #11
    Cloning the drive also allows you to measure if there is a speed boost with the new drive. I prefer it.
     

Share This Page