What is the best way to use Time Machine?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by al7zn22, Oct 28, 2007.

  1. al7zn22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    #1
    I wanna knwo what is the best way to use time machine ?
    for example Do i need to connected to hard Drive to use it?
    or is it better to use it on the same hard drive , : make partitions ?
    I have 160 HD and I spelt in in 120 and 30.
     
  2. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #2
    Buy the biggest external hard drive you can afford. Plug it in. Format it as HFS+. Tell Time Machine you want to use that drive as your backup volume.

    If your Mac is a portable, make sure you have that drive connected and mounted whenever it's convenient to do so.
     
  3. hulk1st macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #3
    so there is absolutely no way to use tm with a any kind of network share except for another leopard machine?
     
  4. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #4
    Correct. It's likely (but not guaranteed) that in the future Apple will also support storage connected to an Apple Airport wireless base station.
     
  5. TimJim macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #5
    get a %150 bigger than internal external hard drive.
     
  6. hulk1st macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #6
    too bad. who wants an external drive on their desk all the time? for incremental backup 100mbit should be way enough and much more stable than a wireless connection such as airport. maybe and hopefully they will (re)add that feature in the future. i would put another 500gb hdd into my htpc so time machine would backup my mac while i'm watching tv.
     
  7. pb30 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #7
    Would something like this work? Apparently it shows up as a local disk and not a network share. Do any other NAS drives/enclosures work?
     
  8. chris1207 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #8
    Yes, I use a Ximeta enclosure, now $40 at Frys. Got mine I think for about $15 after rebate. Use a Maxtor 500 GB drive ($90 at Frys). Downloaded the Leopard driver from their website. Seems to work fine. I have it connected to one of the switch ports on my wifi router (dlink dir655) My daughter also has one at college in her dorm room.
     
  9. Eluzion macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #9
    So you can use this enclosure, hook it up to your wifi router and it will show up on your Mac as a drive? Even if you connect your computer to the router wirelessly? If so, we can basically do wireless backups with Time Machine then?
     

Share This Page